Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Flashed Pioneer 109 > A09 Still Riplocked?

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

Flashed Pioneer 109 > A09 Still Riplocked?

Postby voltron on Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:24 pm

I've flashed the 109 to the A09 and I can verify this because the Quiet Drive Utility detects the drive just fine. I've set it to standard which is no slowdowns of any kind.

However, using DVD Decrypter to test out the DVD Ripping speed still shows the rip as 2.2x - 3x.

What gives? Have I missed a step? Is there a special firmware I should be flashing with? I originally flashed to the A09 1.05 FW and then upped that to the A09 1.5 FW. Just today I threw the 1.55 FW on there and still no difference. All of the firmwares I've flashed with are official Pioneer Firmwares.

Any help is appreciated.
voltron
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Ian on Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:46 pm

What happens when you run a test with say CD Speed?
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby voltron on Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:55 pm

Hey Ian, ltns. I've used Nero CD-DVD Speed that came with some Nero version 6.

Since my post, I've downgraded to FW 1.4 as per some posts I've read on other forums and I've just run CDSpeed now with the following output (stopped it early since it's clear it's not ripping at 12x):



The disc isn't scratched up at all, either. I got the drive OEM from Newegg.
Attachments
riplock.png
Riplocked A09
riplock.png (9.67 KiB) Viewed 694 times
voltron
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Mystery Man on Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:38 pm

Have you tried using pioneers quiet drive utility? If its set to standard mode then riplock will still be there. Set it to either performance or quiet mode. I think quiet mode is the default for the AO9 anyway. I just thought i'd mention it just in case.
Mystery Man
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 10:03 pm
Location: Australia

Postby voltron on Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:01 pm

Yes, I mentioned in the original post that I've set it to standard using the Quiet Drive Utility.
voltron
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Ian on Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:05 pm

voltron wrote:Yes, I mentioned in the original post that I've set it to standard using the Quiet Drive Utility.


Try the performance mode?
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby voltron on Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:21 pm

Performance mode made no difference. I should have mentioned that I tried it.

On another note, I just loaded the old firmware version 1.05 on a whim and then reloaded the 1.55 firmware and now all is working.
Attachments
aaa.PNG
Unlocked A09.
aaa.PNG (26.88 KiB) Viewed 683 times
voltron
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby frank1 on Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:00 am

Hello !
I have been trying to answer this question:
Which is the real interest of flashing a Pioneer 109 to a A09 ?
I understand that a A09 is detected by the Quiet Drive Utility but is that all ?

So while searching for an answer I found this website which is only dedicated to the Pioneer 109 and family:
http://pioneer109.com/phpBB2/

and in this particular thread:
" To transform Pioneer Dvr-109 into A09 "
http://pioneer109.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=146
I noticed a post by Huggy and he uses a firmware A09FW1.55 from the site of flashman.rpc1

and I read in the post:
" You will now have a DVR-A09 which can have full rip speed enabled by using Pioneer's quietdrive utility "
and after he shows a test with DVD Decrypter


So I am not a specialist and I have never "crossflashed" a 109 into a A09 (because I have only a Pioneer 107 and a 108)
and I hope you understand perfectly what you are doing ...

My first interest was to be able to flash a Pioneer drive
- in the case you have to downgrade a firmware because of problems
- or if you want to upgrade one of these "pseudo-Pioneer" burners that yopu can find in computers of brand "Medion"
User avatar
frank1
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:59 am


Return to DVD Writers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.