Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Forums upgraded to phpBB 2.0.3

Need help with the website? Have feedback? Post it here.

Forums upgraded to phpBB 2.0.3

Postby socheat on Mon Nov 04, 2002 1:11 am

After some complications, the forums have been upgraded to phpBB 2.0.3 and are open for business again. You'll notice that all the messages posted before today now have December 31st, 1969 as their posted date. We figured having the correct dates wasn't worth the messages that we would've lost had we restored from our backups. New messages will have the proper timestamp.

Also, some users (20 at most) might have some permissions problems. Please let me know if you are experiencing any strange problems. Sorry it took so long... :(
Last edited by socheat on Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby Action Jackson on Mon Nov 04, 2002 1:57 am

I noticed those dates. LOL! Sounds like a Y2K problem.

The funniest thing was on the main page, it said the forums would be down, and then there was a link to "discuss this in the forums" ROTF!

Glad to see it's back up.
Action Jackson
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Markham, ON. CANADA

Postby socheat on Mon Nov 04, 2002 2:07 am

Actually, the phpBB upgrade process runs through the current/old phpBB database, and alters the tables to fit the new phpBB code/database scheme. Sometimes a table alteration fails, and in this case, all the message times got set to '0'. Regardless of the reason, it was a BIG surprise! :o
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Nov 04, 2002 3:00 am

GREAT TO BE BACK!

:D :D :D :P :P :P
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Han on Mon Nov 04, 2002 4:53 am

Socheat, could you please completely erase my private Outbox in this forum. There's a message listed, which has no text anymore, because I've tried to delete it. It really bothers me. (The user I've sent an answer vanished and I can't get rid of the message in my Outbox...) Thank you!
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby socheat on Mon Nov 04, 2002 7:24 am

No problem. I'll take a look early this week.

Socheat
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Nov 04, 2002 8:25 am

why the change to just 15 post/page ?
can it be changed back (to 25 if i'm not mistaken)?
or better yet, is it possible to set this number in the personal profile so everone can set it for what's good for them?

(nice avatar, socheat, btw... :wink: )
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Han on Mon Nov 04, 2002 4:22 pm

Well, I've managed to delete the message myself. Looks like this new phpBB fixed the problem regarding Outbox messages (not) being deleted. :D
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby socheat on Mon Nov 04, 2002 4:57 pm

why the change to just 15 post/page ?
can it be changed back (to 25 if i'm not mistaken)?
or better yet, is it possible to set this number in the personal profile so everone can set it for what's good for them?


Unfortunately, there isn't a setting for this on a per user basis. :-? But it looks like someone has already set it back to 25 messages per page, unless I'm mistaken.

Well, I've managed to delete the message myself. Looks like this new phpBB fixed the problem regarding Outbox messages (not) being deleted. icon_biggrin.gif


Good, I'm glad to see the upgrade was actually useful. After this weekend, I was getting a bit skeptical... :wink:
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby Ian on Mon Nov 04, 2002 5:37 pm

Socheat wrote:Unfortunately, there isn't a setting for this on a per user basis. :-? But it looks like someone has already set it back to 25 messages per page, unless I'm mistaken.


Yeah, I changed that. It was bugging me too.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Nov 06, 2002 3:45 pm

another change that seems to have happened along with the upgrade, and this is a HUGE plus for me:
the automatic logout seems to take much longer (or does not happen at all)!!!!!
great!!!!!
if this is not accidental, but due to something one of you did, then THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cfitz on Wed Nov 06, 2002 4:13 pm

dodecahedron wrote:the automatic logout seems to take much longer (or does not happen at all)!!!!!
great!!!!!

Automatically logout? What is that? Seriously, I logged in to this site once, checked the "keep me logged in" box, and I haven't logged in again since.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Nov 06, 2002 4:20 pm

cfitz wrote:Automatically logout? What is that? Seriously, I logged in to this site once, checked the "keep me logged in" box, and I haven't logged in again since.


i don't like the "automatically log me in" option.
can't recall exactly why. tried it a long time ago, didn't like it, stopped using it.
i think it had something to do with this: it would stop showing me the new posts, that i have'nt read yet, in red. or it would to begin with (for a period of time after i log in) and then stop. very annoying.
so i just log in regularly.
of course, with the automatic logoff, i have to log in again and i lose the new post info, as well. but i prefer it this way.
and like i said, now the automatic logoff takes a very long time (or not at all???) so it's very convenient to me and i'm pleased.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Nov 13, 2002 9:51 am

something strange:
when i logout (click the logout button at the top-right of the page), the page reloads, but it still reads "Logout" as if i'm still loggen in. i refresh the page and then it shows correctly "Login" indicating that i have succesfully logged out.
however this only happens on my home comp, when i do it on other computers (at least 2) this does not happen!

any possible expalanation?
i'm suspecting it's something with my computer, since it does not happen on others. however this only started happening after the forum update.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cfitz on Wed Nov 13, 2002 11:38 am

Dodecahedron, are you using any sort of web filtering software or web proxy?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby Ian on Wed Nov 13, 2002 1:16 pm

His ISP might be.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Nov 14, 2002 6:40 am

no web filtering program.
however using Norton Personal Firewall. could this be something to do with this?

my ISP is my university.
i think they are using a proxy.
if that's what causes this problem, well ok, i can live with it.

however, one of the other computers i've worked with and on which this phenomemon does not occur is in the university, so i don't really think this is the reason.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cfitz on Thu Nov 14, 2002 8:36 pm

dodecahedron wrote:no web filtering program.
however using Norton Personal Firewall. could this be something to do with this?

Yes, it could. It does web filtering, meaning it is probably serving as a local proxy on your box. In IE select Tools->Internet Options, then open the "Connections" tab. Click the "Settings" and "LAN Settings" buttons and see if either shows any sort of proxy enabled.

The reason this could be the cause is that web filters and proxies often mess up cookies and cached expiration info, making it difficult or impossible for the web server to keep track of what you've seen and what you haven't.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Nov 15, 2002 1:31 pm

Automatically detect settings is checkmarked.
Ues automatic configuration script is unchecked.
Use a proxy server for your LAN is unchecked.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Matt on Fri Nov 15, 2002 1:36 pm

dodeca, what cache settings do you have in ie/netscape/opera whatever browser you're using?
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

Postby cfitz on Fri Nov 15, 2002 2:04 pm

dodecahedron wrote:Automatically detect settings is checkmarked.
Ues automatic configuration script is unchecked.
Use a proxy server for your LAN is unchecked.

Try unchecking 'automatically detect settings', saving the settings, shutting down all open instances of IE, and then restarting it. If my suspicions are correct, this will disable the Norton web filter. You will start seeing pop-up ads and such again ( :( ), but your cache expiration issues will go away (hopefully). Anyway, it is worth a try since it is easy to do and undo.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Nov 15, 2002 2:32 pm

Matt wrote:dodeca, what cache settings do you have in ie/netscape/opera whatever browser you're using?

i'm using IE. how do i check what my cache settings are?

cfitz wrote:Try unchecking 'automatically detect settings', saving the settings, shutting down all open instances of IE, and then restarting it. If my suspicions are correct, this will disable the Norton web filter. You will start seeing pop-up ads and such again ( ), but your cache expiration issues will go away (hopefully). Anyway, it is worth a try since it is easy to do and undo.

i'll try this as soon as i end this session.
anyway, i'm seeing popups now, i didn't bother to block them or anything at all.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cfitz on Fri Nov 15, 2002 2:39 pm

dodecahedron wrote:i'm using IE. how do i check what my cache settings are?

Tools->Internet Options, then select the "General" tab, and click on the "Settings" button in the "Temporary Internet files" box.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Nov 15, 2002 2:49 pm

Matt wrote:dodeca, what cache settings do you have in ie/netscape/opera whatever browser you're using?


Check for newer versions of stored pages: Automatically.

can this have anything to do with the phenomenon i described?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cfitz on Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:06 pm

dodecahedron wrote:Check for newer versions of stored pages: Automatically.

can this have anything to do with the phenomenon i described?

No. That is what it ought to be. That lets the server control the cache expiration policy for a given page. Mine is set to 'Automatic' also, and doesn't give me problems - as long as I don't turn on web filtering software.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Next

Return to Feedback and Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.