Home News Reviews Forums Shop


LG GSA-4120B reviewed, 5x DVD-RAM, 12x DVD+R

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

Postby MadBurner on Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:56 am

Any word about bitsetting with this release Kenny?

Thanks again!
MB
User avatar
MadBurner
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:00 pm

Postby Kennyshin on Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:59 am

MadBurner wrote:Any word about bitsetting with this release Kenny?

Thanks again!
MB


I hope it does have bitsetting enabled this time but I don't think so. LG said nothing about it yet. I haven't rebooted after flashing to A104 because I have over 30 active windows right now on this PC. :(
Kennyshin
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 12:56 am

Postby alexnoe on Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:05 pm

There is no reason to reboot after a firmware update... also, LG has told me that bitsetting will be supported, but they didn't say when or in which firmware.
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby MadBurner on Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:32 pm

alexnoe wrote:There is no reason to reboot after a firmware update...


It is recommended that you reboot your PC after ALL firmware updates!!

MB
User avatar
MadBurner
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:00 pm

Postby alexnoe on Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:39 pm

Yeah, and it is recommended to only update LG drives as secondary master, and it is recommended to use IDE cables of 45cm only, and some people even claim it is recommended not to drink stuff containing H2CO3 directly after eating ice cream.... i have no idea who started this reboot-after-firmware-update-nonsense, but i'm sure it was someone from some marketing departement
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby dhc014 on Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:52 pm

It is important to reboot since the device is considered a completely new piece of hardware to Windows. Some stuff might lost your drive until you restart your computer or manually remove then add the hardware. Some updaters seem to do this for you.

It might also help some drives to have their power cycled after flashing.
Last edited by dhc014 on Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby alexnoe on Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:54 pm

Mine doesn't. Not even Nero has such a problem.
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby MadBurner on Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:19 pm

Well Windows XP Pro found new hardware after I flashed my drive and rebooted with the new firmware so obviously something changed in Windows.

MB
User avatar
MadBurner
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:00 pm

Postby alexnoe on Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:21 pm

Yes, it *tells* sth about that, but it works well without having it detect new hardware.
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby Kennyshin on Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:39 pm

I wanted to reboot this PC because it seemed to require rebooting for the flashed GSA-4120B to be recognized properly. I was running Nero Burning ROM, KProbe, Nero CD Speed, Windows Explorer, FTP, a few P2P clients and servers, and many other programs at once so even just reducing some overhead on the RAM usage could be helpful sometimes. :D
Kennyshin
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 12:56 am

Postby Kennyshin on Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:42 pm

alexnoe wrote:There is no reason to reboot after a firmware update... also, LG has told me that bitsetting will be supported, but they didn't say when or in which firmware.


Yes, LG will have bitsetting supported in their future firmware updates since they can and they have to. I meant I haven't heard yet anything about bitsetting with the latest release, privately or publicly.

I burned only one T02 disk at 12x. I scanned it with KProbe v2.2.5 at 4x first and then at max but was wondering a few hours ago whether I'd better go back to v2.2.3 or flash back to N0AD. Nero CDSpeed read it very smoothly though. :D
Kennyshin
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 12:56 am

Postby Kennyshin on Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:05 pm

First burn test to Taiyo Yuden T02 8x DVD+R media in Fusion 4x DVD+R packaging. Written at 12x using LG's latest official A104 firmware.

http://www.storageinfo.co.kr/EzMODse/vi ... 625#136625

Image

Typical Z-CLV 12x burning with GSA-4120B though it took a little longer than usual.

1. KProbe v2.2.5 read at 4x

Image

2. KProbe v2.2.5 read at max

Image

3. KProbe v2.2.3 read at 4x

Image

All three scans linked above were done to the same disc in the same drive, Lite-On SOHW-1213S.
Kennyshin
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 12:56 am

Postby alexnoe on Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:33 am

Did anyone notice that LiteOn 165/166 DVD-ROMs can't read DVD+R written with A104? The disc capacity is misdetected...
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby Kennyshin on Wed Aug 11, 2004 10:21 pm

I only have combo drives from Lite-On. I'd also like some new combos from Toshiba + Samsung. Their new model names are still rather new to me.
Kennyshin
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 12:56 am

Postby raygay27 on Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:54 am

alexnoe wrote:Did anyone notice that LiteOn 165/166 DVD-ROMs can't read DVD+R written with A104? The disc capacity is misdetected...


my tdk combo 523252BS( liteon oem) failed to read the imation 8x dvd+r(ricohjpnr02) but it can be read in tdk 1280 ( liteon 1213s) with booktype dvd-rom.
raygay27
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 3:28 am

Postby alexnoe on Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:33 am

Bitsetting works with Nero 6.3.1.20
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby MadBurner on Sat Aug 14, 2004 3:35 pm

New function was added for changing the booktype with several drives


What other drives does Nero 6.3.1.20 support?

MB
User avatar
MadBurner
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:00 pm

Postby alexnoe on Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:22 pm

Forget that about Bitsetting:

The LG 4120B can't read the 2nd layer of the disc I just wrote itself! Nero 6.3.1.20 + Bitsetting :(
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby alexnoe on Sun Aug 15, 2004 2:39 am

Kennyshin: over at cdfreaks you created a disc using CDSpeed. What happens if you really use Nero? Maybe someone has screwed up something again in Nero :-(

EDIT
OK, when using Nero's disc image creator, the file is exactly 150 sectors smaller than the reported disc capacity (dvd decrypter) of the written coaster.

When reading a simple plain dvd+r back, the image size and the disc capacity are equal.

What is THAT about? Either there is such a difference of 150 sectors, like on CD-R, or there is none. It should not depend on the software! Gah! Maybe it can't read the 2nd layer because Nero has written a b0rked disc capacity?
Last edited by alexnoe on Sun Aug 15, 2004 4:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby alexnoe on Sun Aug 15, 2004 5:38 am

Wrote another dvd+r dl in dvd decrypter -> disc works in the LG 4120B now, booktype is dvd-rom.
Image

Seems like it remembers the setting made in Nero.

However, obviously Nero is to be blamed for making that coaster which the LG 4120B could not read back itself

Unfortunately, all other drives detect a wrong disc capacity. The capacity read by the toshiba 1712, the pioneer a06 and the liteon 165 is equal to the disc's total capacity, not to the used capacity. When reading back the image in the toshiba 1712 for example, there are some zeros added between the end of he 1st layer and the beginning of the 2nd layer. This bug did not occur with firmware N0AD, so it's a flaw in A104, and not in the other drives.

As i'm out of dual layer dvd+r blanks at the moment, someone else might check if recording a disc entirely, i.e. using each sector, circumvents this bug. You can pad an image using this.
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby alexnoe on Tue Aug 17, 2004 3:39 am

Now i've padded a disc to its maximum capacity, just by using the tool i've linked to above

-> Disc works perfectly now in Toshiba 1712. I've summerized all my test results here
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Postby Boba_Fett on Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:06 pm

How is the writing quality for regular DVD+R disks with NOAD? I just got a 100 pack of 4x Ridata (probably Ricoh dye) and I would like to have that bitsetting option avaiable to me...
eVGA NF4 SLI mobo
Opteron 165 Dual Core 1MB cache @ 2.5ghz
2GB Mushkin DDR PC4000
2x160GB & 1x250GB 7,200RPM SATA w/NCQ
eVGA Geforce 7900 GTO 512MB PCI-e
Pioneer 111D 16x DVD burner
Onboard Sound :(
User avatar
Boba_Fett
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 8:06 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Postby alexnoe on Fri Aug 20, 2004 4:22 am

Did anyone notice that N0AD burns TY 8x nicely at 8x and 12x, but that those discs come out as crap at 4x?

KProbe Scans. The read curve in the Toshiba 1712 is bad at the end of the disc for the 4x recording
alexnoe
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 2:31 am

Previous

Return to DVD Writers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.