Home News Reviews Forums Shop


help backing up games

Anything else

help backing up games

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:02 am

you'll all probably laugh, but i'm trying for the first time in my life to backup a protected game CD.
my 2years+3months old son's Comfy games.
http://www.comfyland.com/ - do they have this stuff in the US too ?
all legally owned.

anyway, i made an image of the game CD with burnatonce (regular .iso ripping) and mount it with DaemonTools, and it gives me a warning that it cannont play the game without the original CD in the drive.
made an image with CloneCD 4.2 (.ccd+.img+.sub) using the regular Gamce CD profile. same end result.
tried uninstalling the game and resintalling it from the DT virtual drive, same result.

read a bit the DT online help, as far as i can tell the game has no "special" protection: SafeDisc, SecuRom, LaserLock etc. though of course i can be wrong.

can anyone help me out?
info on these games spcifically, or in general pointers to websites that have info on this?
TIA
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Ian on Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:21 am

That problem is listed on their FAQ, but it says nothing about copy protection.

http://comfyland.com/index.php?option=c ... Itemid=120

It's possible that the program is able to tell if you're using a recordable disc or a virtual drive. With CloneCD, you can "hide" CD-R media using the system tray utility. There are also apps to hide virtual drives. I have to use a little app called "hidevcd" whenever I want to play Battlefront II at work using Alcohol.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby MediumRare on Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:34 pm

Ian wrote:play Battlefront II at work using Alcohol.

tsk tsk! [-X

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:35 pm

i tried ClonCD tray app, Hide CDR Media is greyed out for some reason...
be it the original pressed CD or a copy on CDR, both in the DVD-ROM drive or in burners, or the image mounted with DT.

hidevcd.exe is just for Securom, didn't help me out with the Comfy game.

so far no luck... :(
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Spazmogen on Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:59 pm

Try using ClonyXXL to determine what the copy protection is on the disc.

From there, you can set up Clone CD or Alcohol 120% ( I only use Alcohol now).

HERE is the main English download. As the program was originally in German.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby Ian on Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:28 pm

dodecahedron wrote:i tried ClonCD tray app, Hide CDR Media is greyed out for some reason...


It depends on your country. If I have my region set to US, its greyed out too. Since it doesn't work in your DVD-ROM, this probably isn't the cause anyway.

I should also point out that if you just need to mount an image, Alcohol 52% is free.

http://www.free-downloads.net/programs/ ... ee_Edition
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:40 pm

Ian wrote:It depends on your country. If I have my region set to US, its greyed out too. Since it doesn't work in your DVD-ROM, this probably isn't the cause anyway.

you mean in Control Panel -> Regional settings -> Location?
it's set to Israel.

Ian wrote:I should also point out that if you just need to mount an image, Alcohol 52% is free.

thanks, but any reason to think Alcohol 52% would work better than Daemon Tools ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Ian on Sat Dec 16, 2006 9:31 pm

dodecahedron wrote:you mean in Control Panel -> Regional settings -> Location?
it's set to Israel.


Yeah, that feature is "illegal" in some countries. I'm guessing Israel is one of them.

thanks, but any reason to think Alcohol 52% would work better than Daemon Tools ?


It probably works about the same. I just prefer to use Alcohol.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby Spazmogen on Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:56 pm

Here's a tip: set your location to Canada, eh!

Worked for me when I used CloneCD.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:23 am

Spaz:
thanks for reminding me of ClonyXXL.
i've downloaded it years ago but never used it.
i'll try it out.
and also i'll try to move to Canada (virtually speaking :D ) and see if that helps.

i'll try Alcohol 52% too, i never have just used Daemon Tools. maybe i'll like it better ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Spazmogen on Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:01 am

No trouble.


The Canadian location was an easy work around to enable 'hide cd-r' for CloneCD.

ClonyXXL will identify which protection is on the disc and then tell you how to set up the CloneCD program.

Let me now how it works out, I also copied ALL of my kids games. Kids are burtal on the discs.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:08 pm

well, this is to protect the CDs/DVDs from my wife :lol:
my son is 2 years old, doesn't handle discs yet.

according to ClonyXXL, Copy Discovery 2000 and ProtectionID, the game disc has no protection.
that means it just tries to detect the original disc in the drive.
have to figure out how to overcome that.

i'll keep you guys posted on how things work out.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby doron on Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:47 am

Somebody have a new solutions to backup Comfy games?
doron
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 2:34 am


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.