Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Help! boot says.... "Sec Slave ATAPI Incompatible"

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Help! boot says.... "Sec Slave ATAPI Incompatible"

Postby JuJennum on Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:07 pm

If it helps, I'm running a Pentium 4 2.8 GHz CPU
1.89 GHz 512 RAM, Win XP Pro...


I was previously running my pc with a OptoRite high speed CD-RW and a Panasonic (Masushita) DVD-Ram.

However, I was ecstatic when my dad bought me a SONY DRU-500AX DVD +/- RW drive. However, when I put the Sony drive in, kept the OptoRite, and took out the Panasonic DVD-RAM, I got this message:

"Sec Slave ATAPI Incompatible. Press F1 to continue"

so I press F1, and it continues booting. However, when I go to "my computer" neither of the disc drives work!


I would be eternally grateful if someone would tell me what the heck I'm doing wrong here. Please reply to this post or email me at jujennum@earthlink.net if you can help or need more details, etc. Thanks so much everyone!
Cheers!
Jen
JuJennum
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Valencia, California

Postby Inertia on Sun Aug 24, 2003 5:27 pm

Presumably your Sony DVD burner was installed to a slave connection.

Did you first check to see if the jumper on the back of the drive was set to "Slave" before installing?
Inertia
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 5:22 pm

Postby JuJennum on Sun Aug 24, 2003 8:06 pm

hmm.. no I didn't. Is there a switch or something on the back?
Cheers!
Jen
JuJennum
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Valencia, California

Postby Inertia on Sun Aug 24, 2003 8:10 pm

A jumper is an electrical connection device that allows a circuit to be completed like a switch. It is manually moved to the proper setting.

There is a jumper on the back of the burner with three possible settings, M (master), S (slave), and C(S) (cable select). Check the instructions in your manual and move the jumper to the slave position. The DVD burner should work as expected after the jumper is set properly. :)
Inertia
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 5:22 pm

Postby MonteLDS on Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:28 am

Inertia is right. The jumper will fix it. I am guessing you have a soyo board, cause I belueve that is what it says when you have the drive on the same jumper setting for the IDE cable
User avatar
MonteLDS
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:32 pm
Location: San Fran Bay Area CALIFORNIA


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.