Home News Reviews Forums Shop


help - jumper settings.

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

help - jumper settings.

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Oct 05, 2003 1:35 pm

my computer has only 1 hard drive in it right now.
i want to put in another HD (from my sister's computer) to copy files off it.

according the the info from the manufacturer's website - IBM (took some digging up :x ) http://www.hgst.com/hdd/support/d60gxp/d60gxpjum.htm
the possible settings are:
Master, Slave, Cable Select, Slave Present.
right now (as a single HD in the system) it's configured as Master.

my question is: what's the difference between Master and Slave Present?
if i want the hard drive to be a master with a second drive on the same IDE channel, should i leave it as Master or change to Slave Present ?

thanks.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby UALOneKPlus on Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:06 pm

If the slave device does not use the Device Active/Slave Present (DASP-) signal to
indicate its presence, the device is configured as a Master with slave present when the
following jumper settings is applied.


http://hdd.fujitsu.com/global/drive/mpg ... umper.html
"Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint you can on it."
-Danny Kaye
User avatar
UALOneKPlus
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 8:28 am

Postby cfitz on Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:13 pm

In other words, if your sister's drive is master on an IDE channel and is the only drive on that channel, set it to Master. If it is on an IDE channel with another drive present and that other drive is Master, then set your sister's drive to Slave. If it is on an IDE channel with another drive present and that other drive is Slave, set your sister's drive to Slave Present (which will also make your sister's drive Master).

For the specific configuration you describe:

dodecahedron wrote:f i want the hard drive to be a master with a second drive on the same IDE channel, should i leave it as Master or change to Slave Present ?

You should change it to Slave Present.

I actually ran into this problem at work just this past Friday. The other IBM Deskstar hard drive in my RAID 1 mirror failed and I had to replace it (if you recall its twin failed about three months ago - both are just past the three year warranty expiration, so apparently the built-in auto-fail timer worked as designed :x :evil: ). I ended up replacing it with a Western Digital 80 GByte drive.

Unfortunately the BIOS didn't recognize the replacement drive on boot. After a little investigation I found that the reason was that the drive had been set to Slave Present (actually labeled "Master with Slave Present") to match it to the system from which it had been removed but on my system it was the only drive on the channel and should have been set to plain Master. When I checked the jumpers on first installing it I saw "Master" and didn't bother reading the rest about "Slave Present", which is why I got the setting wrong.

Honestly, I didn't even think to check for a Slave Present setting. In fact I was quite surprised to see a Slave Present setting on an 80 GByte drive. I thought they dropped that years ago. :-?

cfitz
Last edited by cfitz on Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby Dartman on Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:27 pm

Slave alone should work too I think. Basicly if it doesn't boot after you've set it the jumpers are wrong and you'll have to try the other option. Sometimes they wont boot or it just wont recognise the wrong drive, I don't think you can kill it it just wont work if you've got it wrong.
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

Postby aviationwiz on Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:36 pm

Back when I used IDE Hard Drive's, I just used Cable Select and it worked like a charm.
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Oct 05, 2003 3:24 pm

thanks guys.

@cfitz,UALOneKPlus:
my situation is the reverse:
if i put the master drive as Master (not Master with Slave) (and the slave drive as Slave) will it work?
from UALOneKPlus's answer it seems to depend on the slave drive, if it has/uses (?) the Device Active/Slave Present signal. if i understand correctly, if it does use that signal i can leave it as Master and don't need to change to Master with Slave.

@viationwiz:
i wouldn't mind that, but i don't think the cable supports Cable Select (you need the right cable for that)

@Dartman:
i was talking about configuring the master drive.
if i set the jumpers wrong and try to power up and the computer doesn't boot, can that damage the drives in any way? (or the mobo?)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Dartman on Sun Oct 05, 2003 3:41 pm

Well I've never frid a board yet from just wrong jumper settings on the IDE drive, or the dive it self yet. It just doesn't work. I'd say to set the main drive to master and the secondary to slave and it should work. If it doesn't or it only see's one drive try the other jumper settings everyone suggested.
The IBM drives use some strange settings sometime compared to the simple 3 jumper setup we're all used to on most IDE drives But I have 2 of them here and I'm pretty sure they are just master and slave done however the drive jumper label said to set them.
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

Postby UALOneKPlus on Sun Oct 05, 2003 3:49 pm

I agree with Dartman. Try Cable Select on both drives and see how that works. If it doesn't, then tweak to Master & Slave settings. Try Slave Present setting last.

One of those should work.

Good luck!
"Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint you can on it."
-Danny Kaye
User avatar
UALOneKPlus
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 8:28 am

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Oct 05, 2003 4:06 pm

Dartman wrote:The IBM drives use some strange settings sometime compared to the simple 3 jumper setup we're all used to on most IDE drives

looking at the Fujitsu UALOneKPlus posted the link to, has the same settings as the IBM!

i'll try it like you said set as Master and we'll see how that works.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Oct 06, 2003 4:38 am

OK.
left the previous drive as Master, set the new one as Slave.
powered up, BIOS recognizes both drives fine.
entered Windows, recognized the second drive just fine.
assigned to it drive letter G:

got a small balloon in the system tray notifying me that new hardware was discovered, the drivers for it installed.
then got a dialog saying i need to reboot.
OK rebooted.
(then unfortunately went away for a couple of minutes - the wife called me).
when i came back to the computer - it's absolutely dead! :cry: :x :evil:

i started another "plea for help" topic for helping me out on that.
http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=12927
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.