Home News Reviews Forums Shop


how much better is ddr compared to sdr

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

how much better is ddr compared to sdr

Postby liteonrules on Sat Apr 12, 2003 10:44 pm

i have a motherboard that has both SDR and DDR and of course i can't use both on the same board but i already have 768 SDR AND OFFICE MAX HAS THAT DEAL 256 DDR 2100 FREE AFTER TWO 20.00 REBATES

COULD 256 DDR BE EQUAL TO 768 SDR?

OR SHOULD I REALLY GO CRAZY AND BUY TWO 256 DDR AND HOPFULLY MY I'LL BE ABLE TO USE A FRIEND'S NAME AND ADDRESS BECAUSE OF THE ONE REBATE PER FAMILY
NEC 2500A $20 10/04
NEC 3500AG for $47 4/05
NEC 3540 for $35 9/05
BENQ 1620 for $36 9//05
liteonrules
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 11:34 pm
Location: pittsburgh, pa

Postby TheWizard on Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:15 pm

I don't think 256MB DDR RAM is better than 768MB PC133 RAM. You are better off sticking with the higher amount for now.
No, I like women.
TheWizard
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 2074
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 6:56 pm

Postby Dartman on Sat Apr 12, 2003 11:32 pm

it's a bit faster but it's not going to be way different then what you have now. Get the DDR as it gets cheaper when you can afford it and maybe a board that fully supports it and is known to be stable.
I had a Asus a7v133 and it was just fine with a gig of 133 memory but it started having problems so I upgraded tp a MSI KT3 ultra ARU and it has been much more stable with pretty much tha same hardware as before except for 512 of pc2700 DDR memory. I finally got another 512 now that the price came back down.
I can't say it was way faster but it has been the most stable system I've had so far if I setup the system properly. It also has on board 133 raid and the regular IDE port is 133 also so I have plenty of IDE ports now :)
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

how about 512 ddr 2100?

Postby liteonrules on Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:18 pm

i ended up buy two 256 ddr 2100= 512 ddr 2100 but i did not open yet, so now could that be better than 768mb sdr pc133mhz and if not, i guess i'll take them back and thanks for all the wisdom and help
NEC 2500A $20 10/04
NEC 3500AG for $47 4/05
NEC 3540 for $35 9/05
BENQ 1620 for $36 9//05
liteonrules
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 11:34 pm
Location: pittsburgh, pa

Postby aviationwiz on Mon Apr 14, 2003 7:52 am

Deffinetly go with the DDR. I went from 640MB PC133 to 128 to 256 to 512 to 768 of DDR in a matter of weeks. 128 sucked, 256 was ok, 512 was excellent, 768 was even better.

Switching from 768 is not much different, go with DDR.
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby Lew on Tue Apr 15, 2003 10:05 am

I've read that there is (at best) a 10% improvement (at least for the ECS MB). I think you might have been just as well off leaving your memory alone. That said for most people 512 is more than enough but you're picking up slightly faster (but less) memory. Probably a wash.
Lew
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby TheWizard on Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:52 am

I agree with Lew.
No, I like women.
TheWizard
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 2074
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 6:56 pm

Postby vbl117 on Wed Apr 16, 2003 10:00 am

the speed improvement is around 10/15 per cent maximum if you use 133 FSB and have a fast processor like Athlon XP .
Actually if i had the choice i would better buying Ddr-Sdram than Sdram .

I don' t think you need 768 Mb Sdram ( for which software ? ) . Remember your processor can also be a bottleneck . For multimedia/games etc .. it is good to have fast memory .
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

i have 768sdram on it now ON WINDOWS ME

Postby liteonrules on Wed Apr 16, 2003 1:17 pm

i have 768sdram on it now ON WINDOWS ME
The board supports both sdr and ddr and i KNOW that you can not have both on it

i went to officemax and bought two 256mb DDR 2100 memory chips =512 AND they both will be free after mail-in rebates
i have not opened them YET until i know for sure that the 512 ddr will be better than the 768sdr ram before i take out The 768 SDR MEMORY

I APPRECIATE ALL THE HELP THAT I AM GETTING
NEC 2500A $20 10/04
NEC 3500AG for $47 4/05
NEC 3540 for $35 9/05
BENQ 1620 for $36 9//05
liteonrules
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 11:34 pm
Location: pittsburgh, pa

Postby TheWizard on Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:07 pm

Why not try the DDR and see for yourself if it's faster? Worst case scenario, you don't think it's faster and you sell the DDR on eBay. Since you'll end up paying $0.00 for the DDR RAM, whatever you sell it for on eBay is pure profit.
No, I like women.
TheWizard
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 2074
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 6:56 pm

Re: i have 768sdram on it now ON WINDOWS ME

Postby vbl117 on Sat Apr 19, 2003 2:57 pm

liteonrules wrote:i have 768sdram on it now ON WINDOWS ME
The board supports both sdr and ddr and i KNOW that you can not have both on it


Of course u cannot use both SDR and DDR at the same time ( i had not well read ur first post ) . Most bottleneck in a PC are due to CPU speed or memory quantities and speed . With 512 MO DDR you have enough memory , For software like games or multimedia software , it is good to have the fastest speed . Unless u are making a lot of multitasking with non multimedia software like word , adobe acrobat , excel , ( in this case u could need more than 512 MO depending on what u do ) you 'll have a small enhancement of your computer speed .
Definitely if you have enough memory for your software ( and with 512 i think you have ) and have at least a CPU like Athlon XP 1600 ( or something like that ) u'll enjoy an speed improvement between 10 and 15 per cent ( Most likely 15 per cent , all cpu/motherboards testers says it ) . Even with low quality a motherboard that can use both SDR and DDR you should expect an improvement .
It'll not be a stunning improvement indeed .
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

Postby aviationwiz on Sat Apr 19, 2003 3:10 pm

Go with the DDR.
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby Inertia on Mon Apr 21, 2003 3:35 pm

Running more than 512 MB of memory in a Win9x/ME computer system can cause problems.

See "Out of Memory" Error Messages with Large Amounts of RAM Installed.

See also How Much Memory Do You Need?
and Memory Calculator - Will RAM help my system?.
Inertia
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 5:22 pm


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.