Home News Reviews Forums Shop


MS Internet Explorer won't let me listen to net radio....

Anything else

MS Internet Explorer won't let me listen to net radio....

Postby NuGuy on Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:24 am

I found what seems to be a really good internet radio station,

http://www.icebergradio.com

After selecting a genre of music, and then selecting a station or, more directly, a "Listen Now" link, all seems to go well -- a secondary window pops up, but after about six seconds a third window pops up -- MS IE window stating "Microsoft Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." I've never, ever encountered this before (previously, only for Windows).

I contacted the station describing the problem, and their initial reply (they may provide further solution suggestions) was that it seemed as though I was blocking ActiveXcontrols. Well, I thought maybe I might be, so I checked my IE Security settings. I did have "Customised" settings, so for all four basic componets (Internet, Local Intranet, Trusted Site, and Restricted Sites) I reset them to their Default settings. I also went to my Norton Internet Security 2003, Personal Firewall, and ensured that that was set at Medium level, which allows "ActiveX controls and Java applets run without warning."

None of this had enabled me to access any music -- still get cut off. The Radio rep said that I should have initially gotten a window wanting to download a program (?) to enable me to listen to the music. So, I'm really not sure if that first window (entirely blank inside when it first comes up) is this request to allow this listening program ("Aurora" I think...?) (probably) or something related to the music stream itself.

I've run out of ideas. If anyone has an idea why IE stops me cold and how to correct the problem, I'd appreciate any/all suggestions. Try visiting the radio station. It's worth checking out anyway. Thanks.

Windows 98
MS Internet Explorer v. 6.0.2800.1106
Norton Internet Security 2003 v. 6.0.4.34
NuGuy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby NoSmartz on Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:26 am

could be that you're blocking the IP address to that site.Do you have a firewall?If so,you might have to look in the settings to see if that site's IP is mixed in with your firewall.Friend of mine had the same problem when he plays WWII online.Has to shutdown his firewall just to play.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby NuGuy on Thu Feb 05, 2004 2:55 pm

Thanks! I did forget to mention in my initial post that I did turn off the Norton Personal Firewall; there was no change. I can get around the site (different web pages) without any problem; only when I try to actually listen to some music do I get cut off.

Last night I upgraded my printer driver, and got that somewhat small generic window that allows you to give permission to download some installation software or something (you've all seen this). (I decided just to cop out and let the printer site do it automatically; the "Installation Wizard" had to be downloaded first -- in instances like this is where you see that generic "permission window.") When I first click on a "listen now' link at the radio web site, the window that comes up next is much larger than this generic "permission" window that we get. My conclusion at this point is that this request/extra software ("Aurora") is not being called up for installation (i.e., not seeing that usually smaller window asking if it's OK to download a necessary program) before the first time I listen to music at that site. That being the case, when I go to "Listen Now" that necessary listening program cannot be found to play music, and so IE simply closes itself without explanation.

Well, this is the best I can come up with....
NuGuy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby NoSmartz on Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:25 pm

you're saying that that site has it's own "media player" and it's not installed on your pc so Windows Media Player takes over as the app to play that particular media and it doesn't accept it?Sounds like a codec issue or you need that aurora.Maybe you can find it(aurora) on another site for download.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby robertb on Thu Feb 05, 2004 8:57 pm

I clicked on the link you showed and up the top left of the screen I see a radio tuning button. If I click on this I see a SAMPLE button. If I click on this I get a list of tunes and if I click on one of the tunes a player appears and if I press the play button I have to wait a while and it says buffering. First time it gave me an error message and second time it played. The site seems slow to load and I presume a fast Internet connection helps.
If you right click on Internet explorer and select properties then scroll down and make sure you have "Play sounds on Web pages" enabled ??
Did you try playing their sample?
robertb
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 4:26 pm

Postby NuGuy on Fri Feb 06, 2004 1:05 am

Thanks. Yes, I have "Play sounds on Web pages" enabled. I'm always checking out CD samples on Barnes & Noble, Amazon, etc. Never a problem.

Here's part of the email response I received from the radio rep.:

"We do have a custom plugin that tries to load when you load the player, but you should get a mesage box from Internet Explorer asking to install the 'Aurora' plugin."


So, did you get this interuption from IE in order to install that plugin?


I've emailed the rep again, asking if there was a link or something available that I could access directly and download this plugin. I hope he replies again, but in my experience, you're good for only one response from a commercial enterprise....

I did a search on Google for "Aurora plugin" and got a bunch of hits. At the top of the list was a reference to this plugin as part of Adobe Photoshop. Another reference mentioned 20 varieties of audio/visual Aurora plugins. This radio station uses a customized version.

We'll get this eventually.... I hope this station is really as good as it looks!
NuGuy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby robertb on Fri Feb 06, 2004 10:17 pm

No I didn't get any message about Aurora and the sample just played.
I am also running Windows98 first edition and Internet Explorer v6.02800.11061S
I don't normally listen to music on the Web so I don't think I can solve this.
But I do emphasisze I was only playing the sample on this site as described in my earlier post
this link http://www.icebergradio.com/help/player.asp
describes many changes to settings to get this player to work. It looks like it uses Windows media player 6.4 to play the music and describes many tweaks to the settings in media player.
I.ve got Windows Media Player v6.4071121 installed
good luck and hope you get some more suggestions soon
robertb
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 4:26 pm

Postby NuGuy on Sat Feb 07, 2004 8:44 pm

robertb -

Thanks for checking out that radio station for me. I read and re-read the help info there. I tried to do everything they suggested, but no dice. I even experimented with all proxy settings, just to see what would happen. Same result each time. I tried to add this station to my "generic"(?) Media Player (v. 7) within the Player, but couldn't find the station via this (just, like 5000+ songs, etc. upon searching).

I've started checking out other stations, and will probably find something else (free/no cost blues). I have so many other things to do (learn to use my new digital camera, download and manipulate its photos, research components for a new computer, learn how to play guitar...). I sort of liked the challenge of figuring this problem out at first, but now it's become a PIA, and I must move on (a Nero problem, for example, is an entirely different, more essential matter). Google is only a click away!

BTW, no second reply from that station -- my theory about only getting a single "help response" from any commercial site remains valid!

Thanks again robertb!
NuGuy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby robertb on Sat Feb 07, 2004 10:54 pm

Oh well I expect you will get back to the problem some time later out of curiosity and crack it.
Could it be perhaps a codec problem as suggested by NoSmartz.
I noticed when I right click on the iceberg play button/properties it shows
Windows Media Source Filter as "Windows Media Audio V8 (32kbps 44khz mono) and under more information shows this link
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/window ... efault.asp
maybe for the codec download
Some while back I downloaded a K-Lite codec pack which looked as though it would play anything (you would probably find this with google)
If I open the multimedia icon in control panel and select Devices and then Audio compression codecs I can see Windows media audio listed
Also I notice if I open Windows media player under "View/Options/Formats" one can instruct media player which type of files you want it to play. I have selected on mine Windows Media Files , Windows Media Audio and Windows Media Audio Video
I expect you have tried most of this but just a thought
robertb
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 4:26 pm

Postby NuGuy on Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:36 pm

(Have you seen my "Best Upgrade from Win98?" topic?)

Well, here's another poke in the eye. I went to download Windows Media Player Series 9, and found that it will not work with Win98; 'only' Win98 SE and above.

I found a great music site, and I was able to hear music, but the song's data (name, singer, etc.) were obviously missing from the screen; blank areas where text should be. On that page it was stated that that station used only Win's 9 Series....

I've found what seems to be a decent station that uses WinAmp. So far, so good.

Like you said, I may come back to this. I'm not knowlegable about codecs at all.... Obviously, I'm nowhere close to you and others in having tech smarts; I sort of learn as I go (i.e., get into a jam). But, as was concluded in my other topic, the need for a computer upgrade is obvious, regardless of this glitch. I think getting back into the mainstream of modern computing will solve all my woes. (I'm trying to figure out which Emoticon goes here....)

Thanks again.
NuGuy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby NoSmartz on Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:35 am

if you upgrade in windows NuGuy,go to XP,You won't regret it.
I also learn as I go.I encountered many audio probs before I figured em out.Troubleshooting isn't fun but it learns ya sum stuff!!!I just use winamp now.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby robertb on Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:10 am

well I'm afraid I use brutality rather than skill to solve problems on this computer which is probably why I have all manner of ghastly codecs installed all over the place. I know what you are saying about not being able to install media player v9 on win 98 first edition but I have a vague memory that I managed to download from somewhere just the latest media player codecs. I also prefer winamp and only use media player if I have to.
I had a similar problem with a short mpeg video clip which was showing the picture but no sound.I was able to play the sound on another computer also running win98 first edition I spent about three weeks trying to solve this problem. I downloaded every codec imaginable , tried different players but no sound. Then I noticed in the media player settings under..... File/Properties/Advanced/Mpeg Audio Decoder/Properties there is a channel setting option which is "First" "Second" or "Both" I changed this setting and out came the music. I wasn't really interested in the clip and the codecs are still with me
:o
robertb
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 4:26 pm


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.