Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Lacie/NEC ND-3500 AG w/Toast .... please help *

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

Lacie/NEC ND-3500 AG w/Toast .... please help *

Postby karo on Tue Sep 21, 2004 2:08 pm

I posted this on cd freaks as well in hopes to get some help .

I am at my wits end so I'm very excited to find you guys . I may be not yet completely aware of all your terms yet , but I do have an uncle who knows about firmware and he started me on an Altair in 79 . I am a musician and I do alot of burns so I'm encountering some things I need help with . I had no problems on his Plextor w/ CloneCD . Now ...

I'm on my gf's 400 MHz Power PC G3 iMac (don't laugh!) , we purchased this Lacie burner to mainly do my cd's and backup her stuff on DVD , and do some video when she upgrades her machine . I assumed a high level dvd rw could handle burning cd's .

When it reads or burns cd's it is EXTREMELY loud . It is quiet as a whisper when burning dvd's . Also this is the 3rd machine we have received from Lacie that the on/off button has not worked . Any suggestions for another external version of this burner will be GREATLY APPRECIATED ! Does TDK make a version of this drive for Macintosh / Firewire ?

HERE IS THE PROBLEM ..... in Audio mode (for cdr's) it asks for a blank , acting like it has completed the read . It then spits it out , acting like it does not read it . Then I insert a second cd and it stays in the drive until I shut down Toast (which came packaged with it) . It is not the media , the cd's work in copy mode or data mode .

Originally we ordered the 8x dbl layer and when we went to return it , they stated they were replacing it with the 16x . Fine . Problem is the 8x DID NOT give me these problems . I am afraid this software has not been sussed out , even with the upgrade to 6.0.7 . I told the Lacie tech I did not reload the Toast with the new machine , the software is working in data and copy mode , and we burned a data dvd . He indicated that would not matter .