Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Memory Confusion

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Memory Confusion

Postby TidusTheCoolest on Sun Jun 15, 2003 3:11 pm

I currenttly have DDR 266 on my machine . My MoBo support DDR 400 . Can I use both DDR266 and DDR400 at the same time ?
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ , 512 PC2700 DDRAM , ATI Radeon 9600 Pro , 160 GB 7200 rpm 8 mb cache HDD
User avatar
CD-RW Thug
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 11:51 pm
Location: Japan

Postby kuser9 on Sun Jun 15, 2003 5:03 pm

If your motherboard recognizes both RAMs, you can use them together. But DDR400 will not run at full speed. It will probably run at 266.
Buffer Underrun
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 12:19 pm
Location: US

Postby tazdevl on Sun Jun 15, 2003 6:26 pm

9 times out of 10 it won't work. Depends on your BIOS, not necessarily the chipset.

Why are you asking so many basic questions? Trying to show off your script? If you're smart enough to code it or put it in your sig, you're smart enough to find the majority of these answers yourself.
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.