Home News Reviews Forums Shop


a memory leak

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

a memory leak

Postby coonsanders on Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:23 pm

hi
i keep getting these prompts saying windows has to increase your memory.during this process certain programs wonrt be avaible.is
there anything i can do?thanks


coonsanders

im using xp
coonsanders
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: new jersey usa

Postby Ian on Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:33 pm

Buy more memory for your computer.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby coonsanders on Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:05 pm

hi ian
then i wont get thoes prompts again?can fix the problem without getting
more memory??

coonsanders
coonsanders
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: new jersey usa

Postby Ian on Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:31 pm

What its doing is increasing the size of your virtual memory (pagefile). By increasing the amount of your physical memory, your computer won't use as much virtual memory. Your performance will be much better and you won't get those messages.

You can manually increase the size of your pagefile to get rid of those messages but your performance is still going to suck.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby coonsanders on Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:50 pm

hi
so your saying i should get more memory(a memory card).ok ian
thanks 4 your input.

coonsanders
coonsanders
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: new jersey usa


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.