Home News Reviews Forums Shop

My Modem

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

My Modem

Postby music_lover on Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:52 pm

Hi there well i have this prob with my modem every time i try to connect to the net by dialing every time it shows that the phone line is busy
well is it a prob of my modem or my phone line or my ISP
please help
User avatar
Buffer Underrun
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 4:05 am
Location: Mumbai,India

Postby krj on Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:00 pm

What do you mean it shows it as busy?? You get a notification, or your hear a busy signal?? IMHO it is most likely your ISP. If you call them they could probably tell you and talk you through testing it. Good Luck!
Buffer Underrun
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 1:17 pm

Postby BuddhaTB on Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:57 pm

I think its a problem with the ISP, especially if they don't have enough access numbers. Good luck if your using AOL.
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby cfitz on Sun Mar 16, 2003 4:10 pm

I agree that it is probably the ISP, but it is easy to rule out the modem. Just pick up your regular phone and dial the number you use to connect with your modem. Don't keep your ear too close to the handset, because if it does happen to reach the modem at your ISP's end, you don't want to get an earful of modem connection tones. 8)

CD-RW Curmudgeon
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.