Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Multi-word DMA mode 2

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Multi-word DMA mode 2

Postby Nudicles on Mon Jun 23, 2003 2:05 am

Hi

I've been searching endlessly for a solution to my HD problem, and I came across an answer on this forum. Only, it didn't seem to work for me, so I just wanted to see if any of you came up with a solution since that thread...

To be more specific...

I've used a 40 gig WD harddrive for a while, for the past few months after installing my new Gigabyte GA-7VAXP mobo, I noticed my HD running in multi-word DMA mode 2. I tried all the solutions I could find, nothing worked, so I figured it was a problem with the harddrive itself. So, I just recently purchased a Maxtor 160 gig 8mb cache (DiamondMax Plus 9), and sadly that did not fix the problem.

Updated to Windows XP SP1, newest VIA drivers (4.47) even installed the miniport drivers. Uninstall/reinstall the drive itself, as well as the IDE itself in the device manager, although that probably wouldn't have helped anyway since that would fix the problem only if XP had detected more than 7 or so errors with the drive (or so I've read)... and since the drive is brand new, that wouldn't make any sense...

Anyways, I've babbled on for too long. Any help would be appretiated.

Thanks,
Nudi
Nudicles
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: T-Town, Oregon, USA

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Jun 23, 2003 2:17 am

check out the FAQ:
How to enable DMA in Windows XP (with pictures)
Problems enabling DMA in Windows XP

info on DMA, UDMA etc.:
What are DMA and UDMA ? especially the links at the last post.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby blakerwry on Tue Jun 24, 2003 4:36 am

On a VIA mobo, it's been my experience if you either 1) have UDMA disabled in the BIOS or 2) have the HDD set to none in the BIOS winXP will still detect the drive and set it to M/W DMA mode 2.

double chekc both these settings in your BIOS. im thinkking it's number 2.


If you can't find what im talking about, try setting BIOS to defaults.
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby Nudicles on Tue Jun 24, 2003 7:02 pm

Hey, it worked :D

Played with bios, couldn't find anything wrong... so I just set it back to optimized defaults, and voila.

Thanks for the input
Nudicles
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: T-Town, Oregon, USA

Postby blakerwry on Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:45 pm

cool.
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.