Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Music CD-R's: blue ones work, silver ones don't!!

Burn baby burn!

Music CD-R's: blue ones work, silver ones don't!!

Postby shep on Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:56 pm

:cry: Forgive me if this is an old topic to some, but I am a newbie to this forum and really could use some help.
My Philips CDR 765 two-tray stand-alone (music CD) recorder (5 years old--yes, I was an early adopter) records just fine only on BLUE-bottomed music CD-R's (TDK 16x and slower, Maxell 32x and slower).
The newer SILVER-bottomed music CD-R's (TDK 32x and Maxell 40x) won't work reliably. 70% of the time the machine doesn't recognize them for recording. Other times it does, but often cuts off mid-recording (It will play them once they have been finalized). I found all this out the long, slow, and hard way.

Where can I still buy blue music CD-R's, or others that would work?? I got a few on the Internet, but others advertised/pictured as slower speed were the new fast speeds--the web page picture had simply not been updated.

Please note: we are talking about music CD-R's, on a stand-alone CD-R recorder. No computer is involved.
shep
Buffer Underrun

Postby MediumRare on Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:43 pm

Welcome to the forum!

Have you tried Verbatim media? I don't know about the audio packaging, but the computer discs labeled "Azo" have a blue pigment (the Azo dye, specific to Verbatim/Mitsubishi).

I've primarily used the Verbatim DataLifePlus (with various kinds of Azo dye, depending on the recording speed) for my audio recordings because of their supposed compatibilty with CD players, and have had no problems whatever.

G
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator

Postby dolphinius_rex on Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:14 pm

I don't think Verbatim makes a Digital Audio CD-R.... and neither does Taiyo Yuden that I am aware of....

Hrm, who else uses a blue dye.... Princo, and they don't make Digital audio CD-Rs either.