Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Need help on recorder!!

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Need help on recorder!!

Postby wellis on Sat Mar 01, 2003 3:06 pm

I have a CD to CD recorder and am trying to burn a mix CD. The problem is the CD is putting in spaces between the tracks onto the copy when there aren't any on the original. Is there a way around this?
wellis
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 3:00 pm

Postby BuddhaTB on Sat Mar 01, 2003 6:05 pm

What burning program are you using?
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby Justin42 on Sat Mar 01, 2003 7:47 pm

In Easy CD Creator, be sure you are burning in Disc-At-Once mode.

In Nero, you have to burn at Disc At Once *and* set the Pause between tracks at 0 seconds. (you can highlight all the tracks, right click, and mass-set it to 0 seconds) I think the official Red book (or whatever the CD Audio standard is officially named) standard requires the first track to remain at a 2 second pause (to help the laser track and find the proper start point), but the rest should be set to 0.

(so Nero is just giving you more flexibility, the key is to burn in ANY program in Disc At Once mode, maybe called DAO)
Justin42
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:30 pm

Postby Action Jackson on Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:54 am

Wellis,

You might want to try to copy the mixed CD to the hard drive first, then perform a Disc At Once burn. Then you can use Justin42's suggestion to eliminate the gaps.

Try a CDRW first to test.
Action Jackson
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Markham, ON. CANADA

Postby cfitz on Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:48 pm

I'm just wondering. It sounds like maybe wellis owns a stand-alone audio CD recorder as part of his stereo system. In that case, the advice about using copies to hard disc, DAO recording, and Nero track properties to eliminate gaps, while accurate for a computer CD-RW setup, isn't going to help. Wellis, care to elaborate?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Need help on recorder

Postby wellis on Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:35 pm

cfitz is right. I have a stand alone recorder. I have a feeling I may have to take it back and get one for my computer unless anyone has some solutions on how to fix this problem.
wellis
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 3:00 pm

Postby cfitz on Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:42 pm

Sorry wellis. I don't know how to solve your problem with the stand alone other than, as you suggest, returning it and getting a CD burner for your computer. You might post the exact make and model of your recorder, since I assume that if there is any trick to get it to eliminate the gaps, such a trick would be specific to the particular make and/or model.

If you can return it and get a burner for your computer, I highly recommend doing so. A burner for your computer is much cheaper and more flexible. It also uses cheaper media, since you don't have to buy the so-called 'audio' CD-Rs.

The one circumstance where a stereo component CD recorder might have an advantage is if you plan to do a lot of dubbing of analog sources to CD. You can do the same with your computer, but you will need a high quality sound card to do the analog-to-digital conversion, and it might be inconvenient stringing cables from your stereo's analog sources to your computer.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.