Home News Reviews Forums Shop


7.5.1.1 Nero Home and Recode Issues

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

7.5.1.1 Nero Home and Recode Issues

Postby tazdevl on Thu Sep 21, 2006 11:10 pm

1) Did not install Nero home, disabled via the customizable install menu.
- Why is it trying to run every time I start my computer? If it isn't installed, nothing should be running.

2) Recode is calling out to the internet.
- Why?

Seems to me neither one of these things should happen. Latest version of ZoneAlarm Pro caught these "attempts".
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Nero 7

Postby margrave on Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:37 am

Just a suggestion to the developers of Nero.

Please give us an option to just buy Nero Burning ROM, I don't want or need all the other crap you've bundled in which has made Nero 7 a bloated disaster !!!

:x :x :x
margrave
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 8:31 pm

Re: 7.5.1.1 Nero Home and Recode Issues

Postby cinemascope on Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:20 am

tazdevl wrote:2) Recode is calling out to the internet.
- Why?

If the checkbox "Show Nero Digital compatible devices" in the burn progress dialog is checked (which, by default, it is), Recode opens a website which lists devices which are compatible to the selected Nero Digital profile as soon as encoding starts.
Is this what you are referring to, or is it something else?
cinemascope
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:28 am

Re: 7.5.1.1 Nero Home and Recode Issues

Postby tazdevl on Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:14 am

cinemascope wrote:
tazdevl wrote:2) Recode is calling out to the internet.
- Why?

If the checkbox "Show Nero Digital compatible devices" in the burn progress dialog is checked (which, by default, it is), Recode opens a website which lists devices which are compatible to the selected Nero Digital profile as soon as encoding starts.
Is this what you are referring to, or is it something else?


Something else. This was introduced with 7.5.1.1
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby cinemascope on Sat Sep 23, 2006 6:52 am

As described in the Nero 7 FAQ there is a so-called "Third Party Patent Activation", which registers codecs that are used by an application.
This is indeed new to the 7.5 version of Nero.
cinemascope
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:28 am

Postby tazdevl on Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:12 pm

cinemascope wrote:As described in the Nero 7 FAQ there is a so-called "Third Party Patent Activation", which registers codecs that are used by an application.
This is indeed new to the 7.5 version of Nero.


I'm surprised that encoding into Nero Digital would trigger this.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby cinemascope on Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:28 am

tazdevl wrote:I'm surprised that encoding into Nero Digital would trigger this.

Nero Digital is based on MPEG-4, which is patented technology, so it's not really surprising.
cinemascope
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:28 am

Postby tazdevl on Mon Sep 25, 2006 7:52 pm

cinemascope wrote:
tazdevl wrote:I'm surprised that encoding into Nero Digital would trigger this.

Nero Digital is based on MPEG-4, which is patented technology, so it's not really surprising.


Sure it is, app should not need to call out for anything related to licensing. You can handle that in licensing agreements, no need to risk potential litigation because you didn't warn customers that your app was calling out to the internet. Take a look @ Windows Genuine Advantage... how do we know that Nero isn't doing more?

I wouldn't have noticed this if my firewall didn't catch it.

Craig, might want to think about updating.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby CCampbell on Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:03 pm

We pay a very high price for all the Patents we have to include in our Nero 7 bundles, such as MPEG4, MPEG2, MP3, etc..

And even though half or more of our customers are not using these codecs, in the past we've still paid for them regardless.

To try and offset this large expense, we have implemented 'Patent Activation'. And by law, we must first inform the user that we need to connect to the internet to activate a patent. Which is why a pop-up message comes up before we do so, and the user must click on OK to allow it.

And nothing but your serial key is needed to register this patent activation.

We do make sure that we stay within what the law requires of us. And at the same time try and make it as easy and painless for our customers.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.