Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Nero Recode always exceeding disc size

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Nero Recode always exceeding disc size

Postby pika2000 on Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:16 pm

I've been annoyed by this issue ever since Nero 6, and it still exists in 7. Everytime I use the DVD-5/9 preset when I trascode DVDs, the ending result will always exceed DVD-5/9 sizes, even with 2-pass. I have to set custom sizes (4400MB for DVD5, 8000MB for DVD9) at all times to prevent Recode over-sizing. Any ideas?
pika2000
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:32 am

Postby CCampbell on Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:03 pm

I've heard one or two others report, this, but I have not yet been able to duplicate this on any of my systems.

Are there others who are running into this? Or others who are not?

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby pika2000 on Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:41 pm

Updated to the latest version, the problem still there. Recoded DVDs are always a couple of megabytes (Ive seen 50MB more) more than the max size of DVD-5/9. On the bright side, if I limit the size (4400MB/8000MB for DVD-5/9 respectively), Recode now seems to match it real close, sometimes exact. Before, even limiting to 4400MB/8000MB sometimes still produced oversized DVDs.

I've observed this problem in all of my 3 PCs.
1. AXP 1700+, 768Mb RAM, WinXP home SP2, Nero 6
2. P4 2.6GHz HT, 1GB RAM, WinXP home SP2, Nero 6 & 7.
3. Core 2 6400, 1GB RAM, WinXP home SP2, Nero 7.
pika2000
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:32 am

Postby corporallouis on Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:32 pm

On many burning forums it is suggested to burn no more than 4360 to be sure the DVD 5 disc can handle movies. I use the newest Recode and have set my size to custom 4300 and have yet to have a problem. I have a Hitachi 52-inch widescreen and movies look good this way.
corporallouis
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:18 am

Postby CCampbell on Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:45 pm

Our Engineers have been aware of this bug, and they believe they have been able to fix this issue. At least during the testing it is resolved. :D

The assure me that the next web update will include a fix for this issue in Nero Recode.
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby pika2000 on Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:37 pm

Thank you. :) Can't wait for the fix.
pika2000
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:32 am


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.