Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Nero ShowTime calling home??

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Nero ShowTime calling home??

Postby M17 on Sun Apr 02, 2006 12:07 am

Hi I just installed Nero 7 retail and then latest update.

I noticed when I start to play a DVD with Nero ShowTime McAfee personal firewall warns me of "Nero Showtime tring to access the internet".
If I grant access "this time only", it will warn me again if I restart Showtime and try to play a DVD movie again. This does not happen if I try to play a DVD movie for second or third or fourth ... and so on time.

Does anyone know why showtime would need to access the internet?
Is this possible spyware reporting back to nero how often I watch dvd movies or something else.

Thanks
M17
M17
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:36 am

most likely it's checking to see if there is a software update.
if Nero did something like that, that would be outrageous!
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby M17 on Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:56 pm

Why is this the only application from the suite tring to access the internet? And it only happens when I try to "play from folder" or open "media files".
It does not happen when I try to open "File"
And why is there no option to disable it?
When my connection is disabled (not active) firewall won't pop the warning.
It's just odd and very suspicious.
I had nero express 6 before and the showtime from that one would not play dvds and crash often even after I updated it.
I just want to know what is going on?

Thanks
M17
M17
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby GrrRon on Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:41 pm

I was wondering too why it would connect to the internet.
And I just found out that it had something to do with Nero Mediahome.
http://www.nero.com/nero6/enu/Nero_MediaHome.html.
Tigger
User avatar
GrrRon
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 6:06 am

Postby CCampbell on Fri Apr 21, 2006 6:15 pm

GrrRon is correct. Both Nero ShowTime and Nero Home are 'Clients' and when they launch, they look for 'Media Servers' to connect to in order obtain content for playback. A media server such as Nero MediaHome, but there are other third party servers as well that it could connect up too.

So we are not sending or receiving anything, just looking for a server and determining if there is or is not one to be connected too.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Apr 22, 2006 2:13 am

is there some way in settings or preferences to enable/disable this "server lookup" or tell it which servers to look for ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby CCampbell on Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:56 pm

There is no option to disable this feature. As for telling it what to look for, that is not needed. If it detects 5 servers, then when you go into Nero ShowTime and go to 'MEDIA FILES' it will list all 5 servers and you select which one you want to pull content from for playback.

Under Nero Home, it would be located under Devices.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.