Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Nero 6 volume label doesn't change

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Postby CCampbell on Sun Apr 18, 2004 3:38 pm

eranros wrote:Thanks craig, that was quick!


Your Welcome! 8)

Though I had nothing to do with it acutally. Our Engineers saw your post and took steps on their own to resolve it ASAP. Makes my job easier. :)

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby eranros on Tue May 04, 2004 4:24 pm

Craig,
The bug fix isn't mentioned in the 6.3.1.10 change list:

Changes from Nero 6.3.1.6 to 6.3.1.10
Features Added
Nero Burning ROM / Nero Express 6

Added support for new recorders

Bug Fixes
Nero Burning ROM / Nero Express 6

Fixed wrong DVD+R VR flag detection routine
Allow to select recorder in NE when loading Double Layer image
Fixed wrong DVD Video label on Asian systems
Enabled switching the fullometer when switching CD EXTRA audio and ISO part in NE
Fixed a problem accessing INTERNET CD database by increasing the timeout for users with slow INTERNET access
Fixed that Double Layer multisession disc cannot be copied

Nero Burning ROM

Added data in multisession DVD+RW was not written correctly
Added data in multisession DVD-RW was not displayed correctly


I haven't installed it yet, do you know if it was fixed?
eranros
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 5:08 am

Postby eranros on Tue May 04, 2004 4:32 pm

Just installed and checked - bug's still there. :(
Cheered to soon....
eranros
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 5:08 am

Postby CCampbell on Wed May 05, 2004 1:17 am

eranros wrote:Just installed and checked - bug's still there. :(
Cheered to soon....


It was supposed to be resolved a few beta releases back. I'm on the road today and tomorrow, but I'll check with our Engineers as soon as I get back and see how it slipped through. :-?

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby tazdevl on Tue May 25, 2004 9:56 am

wicked1 wrote:I would like to see it goto NEW everytime.


What he said. :D

LOL I've been emailing tech support about this even since Nero 6 came out.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby eranros on Wed Jun 02, 2004 1:39 pm

Version 6.3.1.15 - bug's still there :cry:
I guess the nay sayers in Ahead prevail in this case....
eranros
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 5:08 am

Postby eranros on Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:59 pm

Version 6.3.1.17 out today - bug's still there.
Come on Ahead, it can't be that hard to fix ?!
eranros
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 5:08 am

Postby CCampbell on Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:34 pm

eranros wrote:Version 6.3.1.17 out today - bug's still there.
Come on Ahead, it can't be that hard to fix ?!


Sorry, it's not hard to fix at all.

However, we have conflicts as many users on this forum want it to remain as NEW for any new operation.

However, some of our OEMs and other users want it to default to the last used Name.

So right now it's not considered a bug, but a feature. I'm still trying to get this to be changed back to NEW. But it's a slow process to win this battle.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby bored@work on Wed Jul 07, 2004 3:04 am

Although a newbie, I have been watching this thread with interest for some time.

IMHO there is an aspect of this that must be considered a bug. To illustrate, let’s say you have a multisession disc labelled "My Nero” that you add files from time to time. When you continue the multi-session disk then:

(a) if the disc was created with Nero previously, the compilation will be refreshed automatically (interestingly enough, it will do this even when you tell it not to) and the label changed to that of the previously burnt disc. If you do not notice that this has happened and proceed with the burn then you will end up labelling your disk incorrectly;

(b) worse, if the disc was not created using Nero (or the compilation cannot refresh) the label isn’t changed on the screen. You then proceed to drag additional files to the compilation and press Burn. After the Burn Compilation window pops up you press Burn again. If you are really quick you may notice the label changes at this stage (often you don’t notice it and the first time you see that the label has changed is when the burn has completed and you look at the disc again – even if you do notice it, it’s too late to stop without risking a coaster).

In either case your “My Nero” disc becomes something labelled wrongly.

While it may be acceptable for a new compilation to be labelled as per the previous burn, the label on an existing compilation should not IMO be changed without the user specifically changing it (even if this was acceptable, wouldn't it be more appropriate to change to something based on the original label?). Certainly it should not be changed in the background as per (b) above.

Wrt to new compilations, my preference would be something non-descript such as NEW, or better yet if the user hasn’t manually changed the label for a new compilation then prompt them for a new name (with the previous burn name, or increment of, as the default) just before starting the burn – this way you couldn’t miss the need to change it if necessary.

ps. am using 6.3.1.15
bored@work
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: South Australia

Postby Uncle Potato on Wed Jul 07, 2004 4:44 am

I was so excited to read the thread on wrongly labelled CD with nero, I am not alone.

However, after several updates, the bug is still there.
It is very annoying sometimes (I end up with lots of mis-labelled CDs)

What goes wrong:
Nero 6.3.1.17 + Win2K + IDE ricoh writer
After clicking continue session, nero reads all existing files from CDR, however, the label will be changed to the "last used" one, instead of the label on the CDR. (I really want to continue!!)
Uncle Potato
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:03 am

Postby ric on Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:14 am

Actually, I really miss the date/time stamp as the default volume label, which I believe was in an earlier incarnation of Nero, although I might be mistaking it for another program.

I think this gives you a generic name in case you forgot to label your disc correctly, guarantees a unique name (unless your clock is really screwed up...), and is informative.

But since everyone obviously has their own preferences, I think ideally there should be an option somewhere for setting the default volume label. The option should allow any combination of string constant (eg. "NEW"), date, time, counter, or last used. The default setting can be set to whatever Nero feels is appropriate, but at least the user can change it if they don't like it.

(OK. then add support for longer volume labels and 256 character filenames and you'll have the perfect burner).
ric
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 11:51 pm

Postby DirtyAbdul on Fri Jul 16, 2004 11:11 am

ric wrote:[...]
(OK. then add support for longer volume labels and 256 character filenames and you'll have the perfect burner).


oh my gosh, YES. i miss the longer volume labels soooo much! i'm still using nero5 b/c it enabled me to use names like "my_farscape_backup." in nero6, that gets truncated somewhere inbetween :( . i wish you guys would have continued with the development of nero v5 and included DL, bitsetting, new drive support etc.. i consider nero5 to be one of the easiest, most reliable burning prog and don't really need the "overhead" of nero6 with all the fancy stuff... but that just my PERSONAL opinion.

(i just lost 2 cents :wink: )

DA
A-Bit IT7-Max; P4 1.8GHz (o/c'ed to 2.4 GHz); HSF Alpha PAL8942; 512MB DDR-2100; 431W PSU (EnerMax EG465P-VE); ATI AIW Radeon 8500DV; HDD: 30 GB (IBM), 80GB (Maxtor), 40GB (WD); 120GB (WD); Lite-On LTR-40125S & 48125W; Pioneer DVD-117 & DVR-105
DirtyAbdul
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 3:47 pm

Postby ric on Fri Jul 16, 2004 11:54 am

You make a good point. Now that I think about it, I don't know why I'm still using Nero6 instead of going back to 5. Except for a slightly more convenient way to select which burner you're using, I can't think of anything it adds. I'm sure there are things, but just nothing I use. I guess drive support is the issue, but I think I'll try it to see if it'll work on my drive.
ric
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 11:51 pm

bitsetting not functional in nero6?

Postby DirtyAbdul on Fri Jul 16, 2004 11:56 am

... and btw, the bitsetting option to "DVD-ROM" doesn't work either -- even if i choose "recorder/choose recorder/advanced" :(. my new NEC 2510A still keeps the booktype to "DVD+RW" which my panasonic dvd player doesn't recognize. i had no problems with my NEC 2500A and nero5.

btw, why don't you guys leave "dvd-rom booktype" where it used to be instead of hiding it somewhere else???

DA
Last edited by DirtyAbdul on Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.
A-Bit IT7-Max; P4 1.8GHz (o/c'ed to 2.4 GHz); HSF Alpha PAL8942; 512MB DDR-2100; 431W PSU (EnerMax EG465P-VE); ATI AIW Radeon 8500DV; HDD: 30 GB (IBM), 80GB (Maxtor), 40GB (WD); 120GB (WD); Lite-On LTR-40125S & 48125W; Pioneer DVD-117 & DVR-105
DirtyAbdul
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 3:47 pm

Postby DirtyAbdul on Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:01 pm

ric wrote:You make a good point. Now that I think about it, I don't know why I'm still using Nero6 instead of going back to 5. Except for a slightly more convenient way to select which burner you're using, I can't think of anything it adds. I'm sure there are things, but just nothing I use. I guess drive support is the issue, but I think I'll try it to see if it'll work on my drive.


=D>

i will re-install nero5 and my nec 2500 until issues are resolved. [-o<

i'm so glad i have a backup computer... :P

@craig:
thnx for giving us the opportunity to test the software b4 buying it! man, those little "quirks" of nero6 would have bugged me so much...

DA
A-Bit IT7-Max; P4 1.8GHz (o/c'ed to 2.4 GHz); HSF Alpha PAL8942; 512MB DDR-2100; 431W PSU (EnerMax EG465P-VE); ATI AIW Radeon 8500DV; HDD: 30 GB (IBM), 80GB (Maxtor), 40GB (WD); 120GB (WD); Lite-On LTR-40125S & 48125W; Pioneer DVD-117 & DVR-105
DirtyAbdul
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 3:47 pm

Multisession Lable bug?

Postby dmagic1 on Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:15 pm

I think this is a little different from what the other problem with the lable was.

On a multi session disc, Nero doesn't import the previous sessions lable. It use to do this on at least version 6.0.0.9. I'm not sure if the problem began with version 6.3.0.0 or not. If I name a disc DATA_4, the next time I burn to the disc it doesn't retrieve this name again. I have to type the name in manually.
dmagic1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:39 am

Why Not Save Volume Labels with each Compilation?

Postby Basspig on Fri Jul 30, 2004 11:57 pm

I am a longtime user of a professional DVD production burning application, Prassi PrimoDVD. In that system, we became used to producing and accessing entire libraries of our short-run DVD titles for on-demand printing. It was a simple matter of loading the job file into Prassi, and hitting F6 (Burn) with a blank DVD in the drive.

Since upgrading our hardware (Pioneer 107Ds), Prassi no longer saw the hardware and so we looked for a replacement, landing with Nero 6 based on recomendations.

However, after some short production runs, our QA people discovered that our volume labels weren't being retained, but instead reverting to "NEW" when instead they should have been our stored with the compilation file. What's the point of saving an .nrd file if all the parameters of the job aren't saved? I cannot believe that it is not possible to save the volume label with the .nrd file, so that operators can simply load up the file, put in a disc and burn. But that hasn't been working. We find that we have to keep a manual catalog of the volume labels related to each .nrd compilation, and manually type it in for every burn. I cannot believe that in 2004, this basic necessity is not accomodated. So certainly, I am wrong about this and there is some aspect of this that I have overlooked. Surely Nero 6 can save the volume label with the job, but how to make that necessary function work has eluded us so far.

I hope someone can enlighten us about preserving the volume labels with the .nrd files.
Take care,

Mark & Mary Ann Weiss

Hear my Musical Creations on the Kurzweil Synthesizer at
www.dv-clips.com/Theater.htm

Business sites at:
www.dv-clips.com
www.mwcomms.com
www.adventuresinanimemusic.com < NEW Streaming Archives!
-
Basspig
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 11:43 pm
Location: USA

Previous

Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.