Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Nero write to hard disk problem

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Nero write to hard disk problem

Postby Yabo on Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:06 am

Hi to this forum and please help,

I'm really stuck on a very simple problem! I have read through previous posts looking for ideas but I haven't seen anything to help me. I have been working with Nero tech support but unfortunately I am getting nowhere.

I want to burn some home movies to DVD that I captured from a Canon Elura 2. I'm using the option to write to hard disk so that I can burn several DVD's with the same movie. 50 mins into the 1 hr video during transcoding I get a burn fail error. I have attached the Nero log file as well as the InfoTool file.

I have re-installed the latest Nero s/w after running the General-CleanTool, I have installed the latest drivers on my pc, and I have installed the latest drive firmware. I have disabled my antivirus s/w. No matter what I try I always get the exact same failure at the same time.

This is my first time burning movies so I just use the default settings in Nero. I also tried burning directly to disk early on with, I think, the same problem (it's been a while so I don't remember exactly) - that's another reason I tried writing to the hard disk so that I could remove the NEC writer from the problem.

I thought the error message in the log file would enable tech support to immediately identify the problem but it appears that isn't the case.

Let me know if you need more info or you want me try something.

Thanks.

I also wanted to add that I preview the captured video using the remote control feature and it plays through the part where the error occurs. So I don't think I have a corrupted video.


Logs removed by Spazmogen.
Last edited by Yabo on Thu Apr 07, 2005 4:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Yabo
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:56 pm

Postby Spazmogen on Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:07 pm

Is your hard drive in NTFS or FAT32 ?

I see in the info tool log that NTFS & FastFAT are loaded.

I use NTFS so that I can have the huge multi-gigabyte video files you tend to get while doing this.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby CCampbell on Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:47 pm

Hi Yabo,

You should edit your NeroVision Log file before posting, as it shows your Nero Serial key. You don't what that to be pirated out to others. :)

And are you sure that is the complete log file? I do not see any error messages in the log file, nor do I see a process complete message. I suspect that it's not complete.

And if you are writing to the Hard Drive, then you should not get a 'Burn Fail' error message, unless you are actually writing to the Recorder.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby Spazmogen on Thu Apr 07, 2005 4:18 pm

CCampbell wrote:You should edit your NeroVision Log file before posting, as it shows your Nero Serial key. You don't what that to be pirated out to others. :)

Regards,

Craig


That's why I removed the logs.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby Yabo on Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:53 pm

Spazmogen and Craig,

I have re-posted the files without the serial number. I thought I had done this but I must have mixed up the files. Bad mistake.

I am using NTFS.

The error in the log file is near the end:

DVDEngine SEH EXCEPTION (0xC0000005: ACCESS_VIOLATION) was raised in NEROMEDIACON.DLL at RVA 0x0000DB63.

I hope you can see the log file now. It is complete.

As for the "burn fail" message, I am quoting from memory and I could be wrong. I will re-run it tonight and post the exact message. But perhaps you will see the problem from the log file. Hopefully this is a good log file for you to look at.

Thanks.
Attachments
logs.zip
burnfail.txt
InfoTool.txt
(16.44 KiB) Downloaded 177 times
Yabo
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:56 pm

Postby Yabo on Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:15 am

I have made several tests just to see if I can change the problem. I tried 2-Pass VBR, changed normal priority to high, and I took out the soundtrack for the menu. Each time I get the exact same error.

The Nero window that pops up at the end is:

Burn process failed!
An error log file was created ...

From the windows I can tell I am writing to the hard disk because the selection says current destination with name of the folder. When I change to burn to disk, the button becomes "Burn" instead of "Write" and it says burn to device.

I was wondering it almost seems that I am running out of some resource. My video file is about 12GB and I have about 70GB of free disk space when I start transcoding. Is this enough? Would Nero tell me if I ran out of memory?

Is it possible that something is wrong with my captured video for that section despite the fact that I can play it back with Nero's remote controller?

It seems that I must be doing something wrong because this is such a basic operation, but I just don't see it! :(
Yabo
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:56 pm

Postby CCampbell on Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:09 pm

Hi Yabo,

It looks like it has trouble at Cell 13, did all your previous logs show it failing in the same location?

And yes, just because a video file can be played back, does not mean that it will not have any troubles when it comes to Encoding.

My question to you is are you adding any audio, chapters, video or text effects to the video file?

Are you creating Motion Menus, or animated buttons?

If you launch NVE, add your Video file, go to the Edit window and then choose Export, are you able to export it to an MPEG2 file?

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby Yabo on Mon Apr 11, 2005 10:59 am

It looks like it has trouble at Cell 13, did all your previous logs show it failing in the same location?

Yes.

And yes, just because a video file can be played back, does not mean that it will not have any troubles when it comes to Encoding.

':o' I didn't know that. See below...

My question to you is are you adding any audio, chapters, video or text effects to the video file?

Yes: 1 menu, 14 chapters over 3 pages.

Are you creating Motion Menus, or animated buttons?

No.

If you launch NVE, add your Video file, go to the Edit window and then choose Export, are you able to export it to an MPEG2 file?

No. Error occurred in export operation at same place in video.

Based on your comment above, I re-captured my video from miniDV. For the record, I use DV Type-1 and frames captured/dropped=112000/6. I exported this new video (worked fine), wrote it to hard disk (worked fine), and then burned my DVD (again, worked fine).

Thanks very much for pointing me in the right direction with this. I appreciate the help.

Best regards.
Yabo
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:56 pm


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.