Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Overclocking LG GCE-8320

Burn baby burn!

Overclocking LG GCE-8320

Postby dISCOfRIENd on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

Hy!
I recently bought LG GCE-8320 burner and I heard that it can be overcloked to write at 40x and rewrite 12x. Can anyone please tell me how to do that, where to find stuff needed for this etc.? Is it worth it overcloking? Can I destroy my burner doing this?

Thanks!
dISCOfRIENd
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 7:07 pm

Postby Ken on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

WOW!

This is becoming more and more popular by the day. Perhaps there should be a sticky with info on how do do this. If you like I will give you all the info you need on this matter, as long as you can provide me with an e-mail address.

8)
Ken
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: Canada

Postby eliminator on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

lol ! Ken you could make a few $$$ now & then .. :wink: :lol:
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

Overburn info..

Postby scottm on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

Yeah...that australian site is really well done. Works like a charm for my new 8320.

Does anyone know if you can go BACK if an issue arises?
scottm
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 3:46 pm

Postby Matt on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

If someone ripped the firmware for the 32x I don't see why you couldn't reverse flash it.
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: Overburn info..

Postby Ken on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

scottm wrote:Yeah...that australian site is really well done. Works like a charm for my new 8320.

Does anyone know if you can go BACK if an issue arises?


Yes, you can flash back to the original firmware if your not happy with the results.

I bet that don't happen to often. :lol:
Ken
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: Canada

Overburn info...

Postby dISCOfRIENd on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

This is my e-mail: discofriend@inet.hr
Ken, can you please post me some informations about overclocking my LG GCE-8320.

Thanks for any informations!
dISCOfRIENd
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 7:07 pm

Postby Ken on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:25 am

dISCOfRIENd

Check your e-mail. :wink:
Ken
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: Canada

Postby gemarti21 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:26 am

Ken, i have the same cdrw, but i don't know how to overlock, please send me the info to overlock, thanks for the advance
my email is gemarti21@hotmail.com
gemarti21
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2002 2:13 pm

Postby Ken on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:26 am

gemarti21

Sure no problem... 8)
Ken
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: Canada

Postby mdkathon on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:26 am

Ken should get a cookie or something. He's been real cool about helping out all our new LG users! GO KEN GO!
[ m ] vincent@enemesis.org
tao / p!xl8 / cfc / ssc

Ninjas are cool, and by cool I mean totally sweet!
User avatar
mdkathon
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:41 pm

Postby eliminator on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:26 am

KeN RuleZ !!! 8) 8)
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

OC'ing

Postby scottm on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:27 am

We all know the site...but it's not nice to drop URLs ;) It sure does work like a charm though!

Hint (and a break to Ken): just do a google search on this:
overclocking lg gce-8320b.

The third hit...after appropriately enough 2 CDRlabs reviews!...is your ticket.

Did I hear somewhere that it's the SAME drive mechanically as the 40x?
scottm
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 3:46 pm

Postby scottm on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:27 am

...Oh, one more thing:

Because XP is so stable, if your like me it's "Where the heck is my boot floppy at??"

Simply put a usable floppy in the drive, go under My Computer, right click the A: icon and choose Format Disk. Now click "Add system files" and voila. Bootup Disk.

Don't forget to put the Firmware files on a drive you can see in DOS!!

Enjoy!
scottm
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 3:46 pm

Postby DrMarkGreen on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:30 am

I read through all of these. I know there are two firmware revs out there that can be installed on the 8320B from the 8400B postings. I ran into a problem with the latest rev. of the 8400B, backrev'd it to Rev 1 of the 8400B and my 8320 now sings and dances with no problems. Has anyone encountered this particular problem?
DrMarkGreen
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:18 pm
Location: Omaha

LG, GCE HL-DT-ST 8320B > GCE HL-DT-ST 8400B UDMA33-MT-Rai

Postby Hori_Porks on Fri Jun 20, 2003 9:24 pm

LG, GCE HL-DT-ST 8320B > GCE HL-DT-ST 8400B UDMA33-MT-Rainer


Original:
GCE HL-DT-ST 8320B
32x 10x 40x
2MB Buffer
LG FW: 1.04
PIO Mode 4- Multi Word DMA - No MT-Rainer Support

Flashed to:
GCE HL-DT-ST 8400B
40x 12x 40x
2MB Buffer
LG FW: 1.04
PIO Mode 4 - Multi Word DMA - No MT-Rainer Support

Flashed to: with the "IBM FW: 1.12" Result Below:
HL-DT-ST 8400B
40x 12x 40x
IBM FW: 1.12
UDMA 33 - MT-Rainer Support

Pro's:
- UDMA33
- Z-CAV --> P-CAV
- Mount Rainier support
Con:
- Read LED not work (when reading,write LED working instead)

Worked Fine for me.

IBM 1.12 Firmware Link:
ftp://ftp.pc.ibm.com/pub/pccbbs/int...ion/74p4782.exe

IBM 1.12 Firmware Readme.TXT:
ftp://ftp.pc.ibm.com/pub/pccbbs/int...ion/74p4782.txt

Information on the IBM Firmware was care of "Wiboon" @ CDFreaks.com.

Links for more info:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php ... genumber=9

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php ... enumber=10
Hori_Porks
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 9:08 pm

Postby eliminator on Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:01 am

Your IBM links don't work !?? :-?
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

Postby Hori_Porks on Sat Jun 21, 2003 10:58 pm

My Apologies for the Broken Links. Here they are again.

IBM 1.12 Firmware Link:
ftp://ftp.pc.ibm.com/pub/pccbbs/intelli ... 4p4782.exe

IBM 1.12 Firmware Readme.TXT:
ftp://ftp.pc.ibm.com/pub/pccbbs/intelli ... 4p4782.txt

or you can use the link below:
Scroll Down to Firmware Updates for the: HLDS GCE-8400B Firmware Package
http://www-1.ibm.com/support/docview.ws ... MIGR-44494

Hori_Porks
New Zealand
Hori_Porks
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 9:08 pm

Postby eliminator on Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:33 pm

thanks !
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

Postby Ken on Tue Jun 24, 2003 5:48 pm

I just tried this and it does work. :o
Ken
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: Canada

Postby dodecahedron on Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:15 pm

i don't understand you guys Ken, eliminator.
i thought you had overclocked your 32x LGs months ago.

what's up?
is there something special about the "IBM" firmware?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby eliminator on Wed Jun 25, 2003 11:57 pm

dodecahedron wrote:i don't understand you guys Ken, eliminator.
i thought you had overclocked your 32x LGs months ago.

what's up?
is there something special about the "IBM" firmware?



yup! - it brings the MtRainier to ol' LG puppy! :wink:
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:36 am

okey dokey! :D :P 8)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby eliminator on Thu Jun 26, 2003 1:16 am

Ken wrote:I just tried this and it does work. :o


Hi Ken, didya try the MtRainier ? :D
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

Postby Ken on Thu Jun 26, 2003 5:57 am

Yes, Mount Rainier does work!

I tested it with one of my Verbatim CDRW and Nero InCD.
I checked properties after and it confirms using CD-MRW format.

It also has Ultra DMA support!

The only thing I see wrong is the READ light doesn't flash anymore, but the burner still works the same as it always has.
Ken
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: Canada

Next

Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.