Home News Reviews Forums Shop


"No post mode specified" eror

Need help with the website? Have feedback? Post it here.

"No post mode specified" eror

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Sep 07, 2005 8:53 am

tried to post a new topic and got this error: "No post mode specified".
what is that ?
Preview worked OK but Post not.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby socheat on Wed Sep 07, 2005 12:33 pm

Which forum did you try to post a new topic in?
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:01 pm

i'm not sure, but i think it was the general hardware forum.
this post
http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=20389

it happened a few times. got this error message, clicked the back button in the browser and tried again.
tried opening a new posting page (clicked again the "new post" button). same thing.
could only post the message by logging out of the forum and logging in again.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby socheat on Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:38 pm

Weird. I can't reproduce this problem. When this happens again, take a look at the URL. You should see something like this:

http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/posting.php?mode=reply&t=20390

If that mode= chunk is missing, that'd explain your problem. If it's not missing... well... :o
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:57 pm

i'll look out for it in the future.

note, however, i was not replying but starting a new topic.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby socheat on Wed Sep 07, 2005 2:41 pm

dodecahedron wrote:i'll look out for it in the future.

note, however, i was not replying but starting a new topic.


Right, but you should still see something like "mode=newtopic". If "mode=" is completely missing, something's not right.

Although technically, if "mode=" is there and you're getting a "No post mode specified", that's definitely not right either ;)
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:32 am

well, luckily i'm already able to oblige :evil:

this is the topic i tried to reply to.
http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=20393

(sorry for not cropping the pics)

logging out and logging back in - didn't help.
clearing all of the cookies - didn't help.
only a restart solved it for me :o

so, what do you say ???
Attachments
p1.PNG
after
p1.PNG (78.97 KiB) Viewed 30041 times
p2.PNG
before
p2.PNG (100.02 KiB) Viewed 30041 times
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby socheat on Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:30 am

Ahhh... when you click the "Submit" button. Not when you initially click the "New Post" or "Post Reply" buttons. Ok, that's clearer now. I'll look in to it.
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:34 am

yeah, when i submit.
but i did say (in the first post): "Preview worked OK but Post not."
sorry if i wasn't clear enough.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby socheat on Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:12 am

dodecahedron wrote:yeah, when i submit.
but i did say (in the first post): "Preview worked OK but Post not."
sorry if i wasn't clear enough.


Nah, I tend to skim and then assume... :oops:
User avatar
socheat
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:20 pm

bump!
what's up?
i'm still getting this error occasionally.
though i admit not as frequently as in the past (when i first posted about this).

i've started using the automatic login feature, but i still get this error.

did you find the cause for this?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to Feedback and Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.