Home News Reviews Forums Shop

How to backup a DL DVD to a DL DVD?

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

How to backup a DL DVD to a DL DVD?

Postby jwheeler on Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:37 pm

Hi, I'm new to dvd burning. I just bought a NEC Dual Layer burner, and I'm wandering what software you would use to make a backup of a dual layer dvd, to a blank dual layer dvd, without losing any qaulity.

Thanks
jwheeler
Buffer Underrun

Postby aviationwiz on Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:41 pm

Rip it with DVD Decrypter and burn it with Nero.
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)

Postby burninfool on Mon Aug 09, 2004 11:09 pm

aviationwiz wrote:Rip it with DVD Decrypter and burn it with Nero.

Or rip in ISO mode and burn with DVDDecrypter.
burninfool
CD-RW Player

Postby thegdog on Wed Aug 11, 2004 7:16 pm

One thing to note, however, is that when you rip a disc with DVD Decrypter (either in File or ISO mode) and then burn it with Nero or DVD Decrypter, it does not remove/update the layer break reference in the IFO files.

This has, for me, caused problems on some set top DVD players. Presumably because the layer break is not in the same place any longer.

The resulting behavior was that the players would not advance to the next chapter after the layer break. It would get "stuck" at the end of a chapter.

So now what I do is rip the DVD with DVD Decrypter, run it through Nero Recode using no compression but removing the layer break, then reburning it using Nero's DVD-Video mode. That seems to work better for some of the players I have.
thegdog
CD-RW Player

Postby jase on Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:46 am

Wouldn't Shrink do the same thing (just set the disc size to DL or custom, and quality to 100%)?
jase
CD-RW Player

Postby thegdog on Thu Aug 12, 2004 1:14 pm

jase wrote:Wouldn't Shrink do the same thing (just set the disc size to DL or custom, and quality to 100%)?