Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Vonage

General discussion. Come introduce yourself. Talk about whataver you want!

Vonage

Postby smartin4 on Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:47 pm

Does anyone currently have Vonage Broadband phone service? I am most likely moving at the end of February and I am seriously considering them as an option. I can pick up the adapter at BB/CC for between $25-$30 (I think that was the price). I also like the fact that I am able to "bring" my current phone # with me when I move.

If anyone has it, what is your opinion/experience?
smartin4
CD-RW Player

Postby cfitz on Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:16 pm

I have been using it for 7-8 months, and overall I am very pleased with it. Sound quality is quite good, I've not had any problems with it intefering with Internet access (I am using it on a Comcast cable connection), and the price is great. And don't forget all the free features like (computer enabled) voice-mail, caller ID and three-way conferencing.

I have only two negatives to report:

1. Sometimes the lag is a bit longer than what you are used to with a traditional phone. It isn't bad, but it can lead to both parties talking over one another because they each think the other has paused.

2. Occasionally I am treated to a blast in the ear as if someone pressed a dialing key on their phone. I believe that support for DTMF (touch-tone dialing) is the root cause of this issue. Due to the packet-switched, compressed-audio nature of voice-over-IP (VOIP) telephone networks, it is impossible to transmit a pure sinusoidal tone as required for DTMF.