Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Need Help With Converting

DVD and Blu-ray Disc authoring, editing, copying and transcoding.

Need Help With Converting

Postby Kizz on Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:30 am

Sorry if this is the wrong forum.

I am a noob, so bear with me please.

I just installed a NEC 3540A. This came with Nero Suite software. I "thought" that I could just install this thing and start buring some home movies that I had downloaded to my hard drive from my Digital 8 camcorder. This isn't the case because the files I have are WMV and Nero looks for files types I've never heard of (.bup, .vob .ifo)

So now what do I have to do to burn my WMV movies to make a DVD?

Is there a free program that converts my WMV files? Or do I have to go out a spend money I don't have to convert them?

I am frustrated to say the least and any help would be most welcomed.

Thanks
Kizz
Buffer Underrun

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:24 am

i think what you need is NeroVision Express, part of the Nero software suite.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon

Postby Kizz on Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:10 pm

So there is noting free out there that will do what I need?

Thanks
Kizz
Buffer Underrun

Postby CowboySlim on Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:48 pm

It should be that which you already have.
Look for Nero SmartStart.
Look for video capture.
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player

Postby Kizz on Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:49 pm

CowboySlim wrote:It should be that which you already have.
Look for Nero SmartStart.
Look for video capture.

I already have the video files on my PC. I've titled them and edited them and they are very nice, but I now need to burn them to a DVD.

Thanks
Kizz
Buffer Underrun

Postby eric93se on Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:52 pm