Home News Reviews Forums Shop

How to recode a PAL DVD?

DVD and Blu-ray Disc authoring, editing, copying and transcoding.

How to recode a PAL DVD?

Postby csloane on Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:49 pm

I have a DVD from Thailand that, of course, will not play in my Sony 315 DVD player. It plays in my brand new BenQ DVD burner just fine, but I was trying to figure out how to make a copy that'll play in the Sony.

I have been doing a lot of CD audio work for years, but I am new to DVDs, so I am asking either for help or links to useful information.

I have already installed the following programs:
* the latest Nero Suite
* DVDFab Decrypter
* DVD43
* Power DVD
* DVD Identifier

The disc I have is Region 9 and PAL. Here is what I did.

First, I ripped the DVD to hard drive using Fab Decrypter, and DVD43 was running in the background.

Then, I tried Nero Recoder to fit into a single-layer DVD+R. This also does not play in the Sony, and for the same reason (area restrictions). Is it PAL? PowerDVD reports it as No Region Specified, MPEG-2 (they all are, right?) and 720x576 (which SHOULD be NTSC, right?).

Then, in Nero still, I tried to make a VCD but burned to a DVD for the greater capacity. Nope.

So can anybody help me diagnose what the problem is? Or can you point to a specific article that could help?

Cliff
csloane
Buffer Underrun

Postby Scour on Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:23 pm

Hello!

Have u ever tried DVD-shrink? It´s Freeware and its a good program. It shrinks the larger movies so that u can burn it on a DVD-R/+R

AFAIK 720x576 is PAL, 720x480 is NTSC
Benq DW 1640 and 1650 , Plextor PX-755, Pioneer BDR-208 and 209D, LG GH24NSC0, LG BH16NS40 and 16NS55, Liteon ihas 124F and 324F, Pioneer DVR-215 and S21, Samsung SH-224DB and 224GB, and some more

cu
Scour
Scour
CD-RW Player

Postby Justin42 on Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:07 pm

Hrrrm, I thought Thailand was NTSC. Guess it doesn't matter.