Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Power Supply Is It Enough !!!!!!!

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Power Supply Is It Enough !!!!!!!

Postby music_lover on Fri Mar 26, 2004 2:58 pm

well i have a P4 1.5 GHZ machine a DFI i845 MOBO
Got a 4x agp and 3 DIMM SLOTS one occupied with a SDRAM Stick(256MB)
well now i wanted to upgrade to a new GPU card and some ram
probably gonna fill up all the remaining slots with 2 sticks cause these SDRAMS are gonna be DINO'S OF THE 21ST CENTURY
and i will be upgrading to a FX 5200 card (gainward) And 2 Sticks Of 256 mb rams

my question is that i have a "300 w" SMPS as of now all i have is a riva tnt in that AGP slot a 5400 rpm HDD and a Cmedia sound card in a PCI slot and as cdrom a cdrw
well wanna ask if is this SMPS sufficient enought to run the machine after the 2 upgrades i.e GPU CARD AND RAM
please do reply
User avatar
Buffer Underrun
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 4:05 am
Location: Mumbai,India

Postby extreme on Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:48 pm

The power supply should be sufficient. If you notice that your machine starts to crash and get exception error, then that's the time to replace the power supply. I have a PIII 800 machine which has a 300 watt power supply, and the power supply still have enough juices to power the following:

1gb SyQuest Sparq IDE
18GB IBM SCSI (2nd drive)
18GB Fujitsu SCSI

The board is a Asus P3V133 with 1 AGP, 4 PCI, and 3 ISA. All the PCI slot are used up, the AGP is used, and 2 of the 3 ISA are filled (the 3rd ISA is shared with a PCI). The 300 watt power supply is still going!
Buffer Underrun
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:38 pm

Postby wicked1 on Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:11 am

i bet the voltages fluctuate a fair bit though. I also think it wouldnt last too terribly long at full load. The PS in my computer was limiting me when I was working on overclocking my computer to the max. (AMD 2500+ @ 2520 watercooled) The voltage rails just werent steady enough with the 400 watt supply I had. I bought the Antec 550W power supply and it allowed me to go almost 100 mhz faster. Now to overclock this Athlon 2500 Mobile processor I just received. I am shooting for 2600-2700 actual mhz :D
Pioneer dvr-108,NEC 3540,BenQ 1640,LiteOn 1693S
Intel pentium D 930 oc to 4.2 ghz
2 gb ddr2 1066 mhz ram
geforce 7600GT
sb audigy 2 zs platnum
hardware mpeg2 encoder card

Conscience is what hurts when everything else feels so good
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm

Postby pranav81 on Tue Apr 06, 2004 3:23 pm

IMO it's sufficient for the upgrade.

User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.