Home News Reviews Forums Shop


problem: HD in PIO mode

In depth discussions on hard drives, SSDs, RAID setups and network storage systems.

Postby mfmaski on Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:36 am

Hey guys, I'm having a lot of trouble getting my hard drive into UDMA5 mode. It's a Seagate 7200.10 250 GB that is currently a slave to my main system hard drive, which works fine at the correct speed. I've tried installing motherboard drivers, new bios, uninstalling the IDE controller, editing the registry, and nothing seems to work. I even tried putting the hard drive in another computer as the slave, and it still goes to PIO mode. Anyone have any suggestions?
mfmaski
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:05 am

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Aug 20, 2006 3:46 pm

moved to General Hardware forum.
please don't post questions in the FAQ forum.

since the problem persists in another computer, i'd put my money on a hardware problem with the HD. if it's still under warranty try having it replaced/serviced.

did you try a different IDE cable?
did you try it as a Master?
did you try it alone without another drive on the same IDE channel?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby redk9258 on Sun Aug 20, 2006 7:17 pm

mfmaski wrote:Hey guys, I'm having a lot of trouble getting my hard drive into UDMA5 mode. It's a Seagate 7200.10 250 GB that is currently a slave to my main system hard drive, which works fine at the correct speed. I've tried installing motherboard drivers, new bios, uninstalling the IDE controller, editing the registry, and nothing seems to work. I even tried putting the hard drive in another computer as the slave, and it still goes to PIO mode. Anyone have any suggestions?


Do you have a good 80 pin cable?
User avatar
redk9258
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 12:44 pm
Location: Troy, Illinois

Postby mfmaski on Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:02 pm

yes, I have tried all those suggestions and have a good 80-pin cable.
mfmaski
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:05 am

Postby mfmaski on Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:00 am

FINALLY FIXED IT

it was a physical problem with one of the pins (pushed in a little bit), and I had to pull it out with pliers.
mfmaski
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:05 am


Return to Hard Drives and Solid State Drives (SSD)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.