Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Problem with EAC ripping on W2000

Anything else

Problem with EAC ripping on W2000

Postby delaluz on Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:36 pm

I have two computers, both running w2k operating system. I have EAC installed on both of them.
On one PC EAC works great.

On the other one, EAC doesn't detect any audio tracks on my CD drives. I have a Sony DRU-500 and a Lite-On DVD-CD reader in this computer. Both drives play CD's and DVD's perfect. When I start up EAC it doesn't detect any CD tracks in either of my drives. I have 1 gig and plenty of hard drive space on this PC and it is much more "modern" than on the one that works. I also downloaded 2-3 different versions of EAC and none of them work on this PC. BTW I in EAC I can click the "open the tray" icon and the tray will open so I can put in or take out a cd.

In EAC, if I go to Options>Drive>Autodetect Read command now I get the error message "Drive does not contain a music CD". Yet there is one in there that my other PC will detect in EAC.

Any ideas?
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:18 pm

are you sure your ASPI layer is OK?
maybe remove and reinstall it.

recommended: ForceASPI 1.7, installes ASPi 4.60 (1021)
http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cdr_s ... rcaspi.cfm
http://radified.com/ASPI/forceaspi.htm
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby delaluz on Tue Jan 20, 2004 2:36 pm

Thanks, I'll try this tonight when I get home.
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby delaluz on Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:20 pm

Well I just downloaded the ASPI layer from Adaptec (the correct one for windows 2000):
1. I ran the check aspi layer pgm and found out that I didn't have one installed.
2. I installed the adaptec on.
3. I rebooted
4. I ran the check aspi layer progrma and it indicated that I now have an aspi layer

I then ran EAC & it still doesn't detect an audio CD in either my Sony DRU 500 or my Lite-on DVD-CD player. BTW I'm trying to rip store bought commercial CD's, not copies.

Any other suggestions?

I think there's a setting somwhere that looks to see if your CD playing program has your CD "locked" and allows EAC to work, if you set this setting to share. Does anyone know which setting this is & how to change it?

The good news is that my DRU-500 still burns audio CD's after installing the AWSPI layer. I hope I can still burn DVD's.
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby dodecahedron on Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:25 pm

despite what it says on Adaptec's website, i suggest you remove the ASPI you have installed and install ASPI 4.60 (with ForceASPI).

that's the best ASPI layer with the least problems.
i suggest you try it.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby delaluz on Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:11 am

Thanks. I'll give it a shot tonight.
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby delaluz on Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:49 pm

I just:

1.deleted my aspi layer using the forceaspi utility
2. rebooted & ran the adaptec checkaspi utility which confrimed that my aspi layer was deleted
3. ran the forceaspi instASPI utility to load the aspi layer
4. re-booted

EAC still won't detect an audio cd in either of my drives. I even put in a different store bought CD. I went into the >EAC>drive options>autodetect read command now...and it says "the drive doesn't contain a music CD"

This stinks!

dodecahedron wrote:despite what it says on Adaptec's website, i suggest you remove the ASPI you have installed and install ASPI 4.60 (with ForceASPI).

that's the best ASPI layer with the least problems.
i suggest you try it.
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 22, 2004 6:46 am

well, at least we have eliminated one possible source to the problem. it's not an ASPI issue.

OK #2.
maybe EAC doesn't like your drives? (although i find this hard to believe).

suggestion: take out one of the optical drives from the computer EAC does work on and install it on the second computer instead of the Sony or Lite-On drives you already have in it. let's see if EAC will work.

(my hunch - it won't make a difference. but it can't hurt to try).
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby MediumRare on Fri Jan 23, 2004 9:46 am

Here's a stupid question- did you try a pure audio CD (no bonus video in a second session)?
A lot of commercial music CD's in Europe now have some kind of copy protection on them. :evil: This prevents the rightful owners (who paid good money for them) from doing exactly what you're trying to do: make a backup copy. See this site for more information (in German, unfortunately): http://www.heise.de/ct/cd-register

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby delaluz on Fri Jan 23, 2004 2:07 pm

I tried a couple of old CD's. As a matter of fact I can rip them with my old PC (windows 2000) and EAC. I just can't rip them on my newer PC (windows 2000).



MediumRare wrote:Here's a stupid question- did you try a pure audio CD (no bonus video in a second session)?
A lot of commercial music CD's in Europe now have some kind of copy protection on them. :evil: This prevents the rightful owners (who paid good money for them) from doing exactly what you're trying to do: make a backup copy. See this site for more information (in German, unfortunately): http://www.heise.de/ct/cd-register

G
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

I fixed my problem

Postby delaluz on Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:02 am

I found the solution and it was pretty simple:

Start EAC
Hit F9 to bring up options
Select the "Interface" tab
Select "Installed external ASPI interface"

Thanks for the suggestions!
Later,

Roberto
delaluz
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.