Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Problem with Windows 2000 Pro. SP4.

Anything else

Problem with Windows 2000 Pro. SP4.

Postby pranav81 on Thu Sep 18, 2003 2:14 am

Dear all,
I have MS Windows 2000 SP4 installed on a computer having P4-1.6 Ghz with original Intel D850MV m/b with Samsung PC600 128 MB RDRAM.
The problem is that there are frequent power failures in my area and so to avoid data corruption I tried diasbling Write Caching of the HDD.When the write caching is disabled there are random errors like Iexplore.exe has caused errors,etc. and in one instance the computer restarted of it's own.When I enabled Write Caching of the HDD the computer came to normal,rock solid,no programs crashing.I tried enabling and disabling write caching,with same problems arising after Write Caching is disabled.
Can anybody tell me the reason behind this?
See ya all later,



::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby BurninMan921 on Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:40 pm

Best bet: get an UPS (uninteruptable power supply). I have an APC Backup CS 350, which cost about $80, and can run my P4 1.7GHz w/5 hard drives+15" monitor for about 15 minutes or so. It even comes with software to automatically shut windows down in the event of a power failure.

As for the random crashes: are you using the IAA? Did you shut the write cache off in Windows or the BIOS or both?
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)

Postby pranav81 on Fri Sep 19, 2003 1:41 am

Well,thanks a lot for the reply.I have only disabled write caching only in Windows 2000.I think the problem was related to IE 5,which I hve now upgraded to IE 5.5 SP2 and now the system is running OK.It is now rock stable without any problems,write caching disabled in Windows.
See ya later,



::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby BurninMan921 on Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:07 am

Ah yes...I assumed since you had SP4 you had the latest updates off of Windows Update. Always a good thing to do!

Glad to hear it's working good for you; you still may want to consider the UPS. They're also "line conditioners" that smooth out any spikes or dips in the power. Quite nice...
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)

Postby pranav81 on Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:11 am

Dear BurninMan921,
Hi.I have a UPS but it recently broke down.Didnt have time to get a new one.I am thinking of repairing the same old one.Maybe a battery change will make it new at heart.
Thanks a lot for the suggestion.
See ya later,



::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:22 pm

BurninMan921 wrote:Best bet: get an UPS (uninteruptable power supply). I have an APC Backup CS 350, which cost about $80, and can run my P4 1.7GHz w/5 hard drives+15" monitor for about 15 minutes or so. It even comes with software to automatically shut windows down in the event of a power failure.

since you're a Linux user, does it have such software for linux? i would guess not.
or is such functionality already built into Linux ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.