Home News Reviews Forums Shop


PS2 Keyboard stops working after XP Boot

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

PS2 Keyboard stops working after XP Boot

Postby SA on Wed Jan 26, 2005 2:11 pm

I have a PS2 Keyboard that is connected to a newly built PC with a Gigabyte KN8NF-9 (?, AMD64 3500+, socket 939, PCI Express) Mobo. The keyboard works in the BIOS but when Xp Home boots, she stops working. I can get it to work by uninstalling it and reinstalling in the device manager, but I lose it on the next boot again.

Anyone have any ideas here ? I have tried a second PS2 keyboard and get the same results. I will try a USB keyboard, but that may only be a work around and not a solution. The PS2 Keyboard should work consistently.
Intel P4, 2.4Ghz
MSI NE0 865PE
1GB RAM
Memorex 52X CD-RW
NEC 3500A DVD-RW
Hitachi 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB in USB enclosure
ATI 9600 AIW
SA
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: Iowa

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:48 am

Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby SA on Thu Jan 27, 2005 1:44 am

Thanks for the link, but I'm terrified to Flash the BIOS. I had one go badly once, and I've been scared to pull that trigger again. Too many other things are working right.

I did find another work around. If I use a PS2 mouse, the PS2 keyboard works fine after reboot. Makes no sense, but I'm just gonna go that route.
Intel P4, 2.4Ghz
MSI NE0 865PE
1GB RAM
Memorex 52X CD-RW
NEC 3500A DVD-RW
Hitachi 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB in USB enclosure
ATI 9600 AIW
SA
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: Iowa

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:07 am

i wouldn't worry about bad flashes with gigabyte, eventhough you don't have one that has dual bios chips

it still updates from windows, with a very intuitive interface

on mobos i would always keep them up to date
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby pranav81 on Sat Jan 29, 2005 2:47 pm

hoxlund is right.It's hard to go wrong now with new interface and mess the mobo.

Try flashing the BIOS,or you can try a parallel to PS2 converter.



::Pranav::
Increasingly mathematics will demand the courage to face its implications.
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby SA on Sat Jan 29, 2005 4:12 pm

I found that if I plugged in a PS2 mouse, the PS2 keyboard was fine. So the keyboard/mouse combo must either be all PS2 or all USB. I would like to flash the BIOS, but there are no other problems. So it's just not worth the risk, especially since Gigabyte did not list a change log with the BIOS update. I had a Shuttle board die in a BIOS reflash, and the RMA process took to long. It was a month before I was up and ruinnning again. The flash erased the old BIOS and never wrote the new BIOS.
Intel P4, 2.4Ghz
MSI NE0 865PE
1GB RAM
Memorex 52X CD-RW
NEC 3500A DVD-RW
Hitachi 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB in USB enclosure
ATI 9600 AIW
SA
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: Iowa

Postby hoxlund on Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:35 pm

i run a usb keyboard, which then my logitech mx1000 mouse is hooked into one of my 2 keyboards built in usb ports

keyboard: Microsoft Natural Keybaord Pro
mouse: Logitech Cordless MX1000 Laser Mouse
Last edited by hoxlund on Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby delta7 on Tue Feb 01, 2005 4:53 am

Over the weekend I built a new pc with a very similar spec ... AMD 3500+ and Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI motherboard. The motherboard has the latest firmware (F6) and I used the latest inf file.

I had exactly the same problem and again using the mouse in the PS2 slot instead of USB resolves the problem. I had previously used the mouse (in USB slot) and the keyboard on a P4 machine with no problems.

It definately seems to be a driver / bios clash somewhere.

SA, what mouse were you using? Mine is a microsoft optical wheelmouse. The keyboard is a microsoft multimedia keyboard.

Even though I have a work around, I'd like to know the cause of the problem.
delta7
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:09 pm

Postby SA on Tue Feb 01, 2005 2:37 pm

I was using a Microsoft Optical mouse in the USB port, and a PS2 Belkin Keyboard.

I could get it to work in that setup by uninstalling and reinstalling the keyboard driver. But it reoccurred after boot up each time. The work around was so easy, I decided not to chase the problem anymore.
Intel P4, 2.4Ghz
MSI NE0 865PE
1GB RAM
Memorex 52X CD-RW
NEC 3500A DVD-RW
Hitachi 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB in USB enclosure
ATI 9600 AIW
SA
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: Iowa


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.