Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Quality of recording depends on software?

Anything else

Quality of recording depends on software?

Postby Han on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:47 am

There's a discussion on our local forum that Nero 5.5 makes less quality recordings than for instance WinOnCD 5 Power Edition.

Nero's CD Quality Check reports lots of errors for SmartBuy media, burnt with Teac CD-W540E in Nero. The same data, recorded at the same speed in WinOnCD, seem to be of greater quality.

Any thoughts?
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby eliminator on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:47 am

How's CloneCD burn quality ?
Wake up ATI :-)
User avatar
eliminator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:15 am
Location: TheLoneStarState

Postby aviationwiz on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:47 am

How's the quality on Easy CD Creator 5 Platinum?
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Re: Quality of recording depends on software?

Postby aviationwiz on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:47 am

Han wrote:There's a discussion on our local forum that Nero 5.5 makes less quality recordings than for instance WinOnCD 5 Power Edition.

Nero's CD Quality Check reports lots of errors for SmartBuy media, burnt with Teac CD-W540E in Nero. The same data, recorded at the same speed in WinOnCD, seem to be of greater quality.

Any thoughts?


Is the one burned on Win On CD using the SmartBuy media?
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Re: Quality of recording depends on software?

Postby Han on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:47 am

Yes.
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Matt on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:57 am

Interesting thread, did you come to any conclusions or have any test data Han?
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

Postby Han on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:57 am

Not yet. Hopefully the 'local guy' who purchased a new Teac 40x and visits CDRLabs' forum quite often, will post his observations.

I can only check my collection of discs, but since I mostly burn on Mitsui media at 8x, there shouldn't be any errors...
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Ian on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:58 am

Han wrote:Not yet. Hopefully the 'local guy' who purchased a new Teac 40x and visits CDRLabs' forum quite often, will post his observations.


You talkin' about me?
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby Han on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:59 am

Emm, by 'local' I mean from my country... :wink:
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Ian on Thu Jan 01, 1970 3:59 am

Ah ok!
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby TheJack on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:00 am

Hello, 'local guy' here (I hope Han means me - imagine my embarrassment if he is not.... :D ).

Well, it's all true. I bought a 25 pack of 32x SmarBuy media. Teac writes them at 24x max (32x if Speed Mode is enabled in Tuning Tool).

At first I burned about five of them in Nero (at 16x). The results were horrible. They WERE readable, but that's about it. Teac read them funny - it read about a half of a cd ok, then slowed down to eight, then back again, down again and so on (Nero CD Speed).
It was even worse on Toshiba SD-M1612. Some cds were read at only 8x.
They were also full of errors (Nero CD Speed - cd quality check).
I burnt one at only 8x (in Nero), but there were still errors - although less than at 16x.
(Nero settings were: Mode 1, Disc at Once)

Han suggested, that I should try WinOnCD 5 PE. So I burnt two SmartBuys (of the same pack) with the same data as previous ones (divx movie) at 16x - and there were no errors (cd quality check)! Toshiba read one a little slower, while Teac read both of them perfectly.
I should note, that I had ''Cache all data'' checked, although I don't see how that could be important.

But as I said on our local forum: it could be just coincidence.
TheJack
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2002 5:18 pm

Postby Han on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:03 am

Hi TheJack and welcome to the forum as active participator. :)

TheJack wrote:But as I said on our local forum: it could be just coincidence.

I doubt this is just coincidence. I've been using WinOnCD ever since my friend and I bought our first burner and we have virtually zero problems with media.
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby TheJack on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:14 am

Well, I guess the debate died...

And I couldn't post anything, since I was without my computer for a week.
TheJack
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2002 5:18 pm

Postby Matt on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:14 am

Well no one was really questioning it; I don't believe hearsay unless people back it up with numbers, not just by saying " Well I've done this for X amount of time and it has always worked like this. " I'm not questioning Han's knowledge, but it's my outtake on things.
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

Postby Han on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:14 am

I would provide more info if I could, but my Teac 8x isn't exactly the appropriate latest-high-speed device to test media with...
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby Matt on Thu Jan 01, 1970 4:14 am

No kidding :) I'm still using a 16x scsi sanyo. All these different media headaches just aren't worth it! ... heh
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.