Home News Reviews Forums Shop


quick question about LG GCE-8400B

Burn baby burn!

quick question about LG GCE-8400B

Postby F8 on Mon Mar 31, 2003 5:59 pm

I have LG 40X12X40 CDR burner (GCE-8400B model). I was wondering...I tried to burn a Nero image (.nrg) the other day, and it said it didn't support 'disc-at-once' recording. It still has an option, however, to override this warning and burn the cd anyway. However, the cd didn't work when I burnt it. Does this mean:

-my LG burner doesn't support DAO burning?
-the Nero image was screwed up?
-or there's a way to reconfigure it in Nero options?

Anyone know anything about this?

Thanx,
Matt
F8
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:59 pm

Postby cfitz on Mon Mar 31, 2003 6:28 pm

It supports DAO:

http://www.cdrlabs.com/reviews/index.ph ... e=Features

I'm tempted to vote for a problem with the image. Try burning a regular data compilation, and see if you can select and burn in DAO without any problems.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby F8 on Tue Apr 01, 2003 2:58 am

Actually, I wrote down exactly what the screen error was on Nero this time. I was a little mistaken when I wrote the first time. Rather, this is what the error screen says in Nero when I try to burn the image (.nrg):

"The Disc must be written in 'track-at-once' mode ('disc-at-once' mode not supported or not able to write such a disc). Unfortunately, your image has a special format which more than likely can only be written correctly with 'disc-at-once' option enabled. But you may PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK. Do you want to continue burning?"


That quote is exactly what Nero says to me when I try to burn this particular image. I've gotten a different image of the same thing from my friend's house and it says the exact same thing.

Any suggestions? Do I need to reinstall Nero (because I actually upgraded from 4.XXX to 5.5.10.0)? Does it have remnants of the old Nero in the registry? I need some expert advice....

Thanx,

F8 :D
F8
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:59 pm

Postby blakerwry on Tue Apr 01, 2003 3:20 am

When burning an image you can selsct "track at once" or "disk at once" mode on the burn options next to the drive speed... sounds like you simply need to cahgne it from "track at once" to "disk at once"... If the image was made in RAW mode, I would change it to disk-at-once/96
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby F8 on Wed Apr 02, 2003 1:25 am

thanx man...you're right. Turns out I'm just an idiot. lol. :roll:
F8
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:59 pm


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.