Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Ram Help !

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Ram Help !

Postby TidusTheCoolest on Wed Nov 20, 2002 2:06 pm

How do I know what type of RAM speed can I use on a motherboard bearing DDR 333 ? Can I use PC-3200 DDRAM ?
User avatar
TidusTheCoolest
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 11:51 pm
Location: Japan

Postby BuddhaTB on Wed Nov 20, 2002 2:55 pm

DDR 333 is the same as PC2700. If your motherboard supports DDR 333, I think that's the highest rated speed it can handle. But to be sure, just do some research at the motherboard's manufacturer's web-site. PC3200 DDRAM is the same as DDR 400. Your going to need a motherboard that supports DDR 400. For example, if your planning on running an Athlon CPU, you'll need a motherboard that has VIA's KT400 chipset or a similar one to it from another chipset maker. However, you can run lower speed DDR RAM modules on motherboards that are rated at higher DDR speeds. If you still can't find the information your looking for, just what the name and model number of the motherboard in question and I'm sure one of us here will answer your question.
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby sonyman on Wed Nov 20, 2002 8:50 pm

You can run that RAM in your computer without any problems. It will run at the max speed your computer can handle. For example, my two sticks of DDR3500 are currently running at PC2100 spec due to motherboard/CPU limitations.

-Scott
Gigabyte GA-8KNXP
Intel Pentium 4 3GHz
1024MB PC3700 DDR @400MHz CL2
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Sony DRU-500A
Lite-On LTR-52327S 52x32x52
User avatar
sonyman
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:12 pm

Postby BuddhaTB on Wed Nov 20, 2002 9:35 pm

sonyman wrote:You can run that RAM in your computer without any problems. It will run at the max speed your computer can handle. For example, my two sticks of DDR3500 are currently running at PC2100 spec due to motherboard/CPU limitations.

-Scott

This is corect. I forgot about this when I was typing up my reply this morning. Must have been too early. :wink:
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.