Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Ram Troubles

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Ram Troubles

Postby Kod1ak on Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:31 pm

Im just about to build myself a new computer (christmas money). The Motherboard im getting is on the 915P chipset. I was wondering if i would get better performance if i got 1gb of DDR-3200 ram, or if i got 512mb of DDR2-4000 ram. Also would i be able to run DDR2 at the same time i had regular ddr beacuase i have some old ram i could use too then.
Buffer Underrun
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:25 pm

Postby tazdevl on Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:51 pm

No, you cannot mix types of RAM with a motherboard. Also, I'd recommend getting 1GB. As to type, up to you, do a search on google, I'm sure there are some performance comparisons.
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby eric93se on Mon Dec 27, 2004 4:53 pm

With the new system I would get the DDR2-4000, the 3200 is old now.
Benq DW-1640
ASUS 1608P2 >> Crossflashed to Pioneer 110 -> RAM+Bitsetting+removed riplock+RPC1 :D

Boost Mobile stole my minutes, then would rather loose me as a customer than give back my minutes (thieves).
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:22 pm


Postby shaun on Tue Dec 28, 2004 10:32 am

GO with good quality low-latency PC3500 (CAS 2 with low timings)
"Traveling through hyperspace ain't like dusting crops, boy"
User avatar
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:45 pm

Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.