Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Routers Sugestions

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Routers Sugestions

Postby CignaXI on Sat Nov 08, 2003 4:43 pm

So far I have used a Linksys BEFSR41 Network Router and I'm very pleased with it. Now I have to buy another router before buyiing the same one again I'm looking for sugestions.

PS: Btw, is it posible to conect 2 computers with out the need of a hub/switch/router????
Still burning with my LTR-16101B.
Image
CignaXI
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby David on Sat Nov 08, 2003 4:55 pm

Yes you can connect two computers without passing through another device.

All you need is a cross-over cable it's a regular eithernet cable with one end of the cable the wires are put in another order.
Here is a diagrame of the wires
David
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: Mali

Postby CignaXI on Sat Nov 08, 2003 5:07 pm

Thanks David! This info was very usefull. What I didn't understand very well was how to make a cross-over plug ( option "C" ).
Still burning with my LTR-16101B.
Image
CignaXI
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby David on Sat Nov 08, 2003 5:47 pm

For option C you would have to run cable under and up the walls or over and down the walls. Install a wiring box (an after market one so you don't have to reinstall drywall, ...) eithernet cable and key stone jacks.

Here's one I did it's wired as a patch cable not a cross-over.


Side one
Image
Side two
Image[url][/url]
David
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: Mali

Postby CignaXI on Sat Nov 08, 2003 5:50 pm

Thanks Again!!!
Still burning with my LTR-16101B.
Image
CignaXI
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby Turkeyscore.com on Sun Nov 09, 2003 12:33 am

I have a pretty nice linksys router that I got from goodwill for $3.99, it is a 4 port with WAN and Uplink, making 6 ports. Ant it's 10/100 and a Linksys. I've seen one's of lesser quality than this for $40+. So dont underestimate thrift stores....
zzzt *pop*
User avatar
Turkeyscore.com
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 10:45 pm
Location: Refrigerator

Postby CignaXI on Thu Nov 13, 2003 8:58 pm

I found this on other forum, I have an ASUS A7N8X Deluxe that has 2 nics integrated, Nvidia and 3Com. If this is true I won't need the crossover cable?
EXCEPT if you use the 3Com integrated card, it auto-sense what type of cables you got and switch if it ain't the good one E.g.: I will network my 2 computers using this method, and then if I decide to purchase a hardware router, I will already have the straight cable, if I use crossover, it will be useless with a hardware router.
Mat


Also this is an interesting post on how to turn an old pc into a router:
http://forums.devshed.com/t80857/saf2566f6588eb08ea6df3fa17d6f3d4a.html
Still burning with my LTR-16101B.
Image
CignaXI
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby jbell on Thu Dec 04, 2003 12:34 pm

I dunno, turning a PC into a router, while cheap and easy if you have the hardware lying around, is a little bit of overkill. Whereas a simple router will do pretty much everything you need it to do.

BTW, that dance stuff, very cool.
jbell
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 12:28 pm


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.