Home News Reviews Forums Shop


SEMPRON 2200 OR AMD XP 2000?

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

SEMPRON 2200 OR AMD XP 2000?

Postby liteonrules on Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:20 am

which is better? thanks
NEC 2500A $20 10/04
NEC 3500AG for $47 4/05
NEC 3540 for $35 9/05
BENQ 1620 for $36 9//05
liteonrules
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 11:34 pm
Location: pittsburgh, pa

Postby hoxlund on Wed Sep 28, 2005 2:38 pm

the sempron 2200 is 64 bit along with being sse3 instructionized

so go for that one
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

thanks

Postby liteonrules on Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:14 pm

that's great because both are the same price for $45.00 at local store and i guess i am getting the sempron.
NEC 2500A $20 10/04
NEC 3500AG for $47 4/05
NEC 3540 for $35 9/05
BENQ 1620 for $36 9//05
liteonrules
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 11:34 pm
Location: pittsburgh, pa

Postby honda_kill3r on Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:27 pm

Sempron anyday.
Matt - Black AE.
honda_kill3r
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: 604

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:38 pm

the Sempron is Socket 754, no?
is there a Socket A Sempron ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby bill on Fri Oct 14, 2005 6:12 pm

Yes.

In addition to the 754 socket, AMD has some socket A processors called the "Sempron XXX Thoroughbred" I'm not really sure why AMD named them Thoroughbred because the old models had the reputation of running hot.

I think they all ( socket A ) run at 333 FSB.

We have one installed at our office, it performs really well for the price.
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Oct 14, 2005 6:58 pm

according to Newegg the Sempron is not 64bit.
only says SSE don't know about SSE3 or whatnot.
not clear to me that a socket A Sempron is better than a AthlonXP.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby bill on Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:21 am

Hmm, now I'm not confident in what I said.

I thought-
The socket A Sempron is just a new name for the AthlonXP, maybe a cache change.

The socket 754 Sempron64 is 64 bit and supports SSE3.

Can anyone confirm?
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Oct 15, 2005 1:40 am

just remember i took my info from Newegg. so what i wrote is not necessary accurate or correct (a shop is not where i'd check for specs. just didn't have the time to look it up better)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby bill on Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:52 am

No wonder there is some misunderstanding. AMD made this very confusing because of their name scheme but here is what I figured out so far..

The original 754 socket Sempron was 32bit. Sometime around June or July AMD enabled the 64bit instructions and SSE3 then gave it the name Palermo. Look for the letters BX on the end of the processors OPN number. There could be other number/letter methods but that's all I've found so far.

I guess AMD is making these processors to compete with the 64bit Celerons.

Edit- I should have added;

The socket A Sempron line starts at 2200+ / 1500mhz., 128/256 cache

The socket 754 Sempron line starts at 2500+ / 1400mhz., 128/256 cache


Dodec,

You are correct, the 2200 Sempron isn't 64 bit enabled. Good catch :D
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2019 CDRLabs Inc.