Home News Reviews Forums Shop


SMART BURN the program....

Burn baby burn!

SMART BURN the program....

Postby YapaY on Sun Mar 16, 2003 5:14 am

Just downloaded the smart burn program from the LiteOnIt site and when I run it, my drive is visible. But when I click on the button to test media, it just returns the following in RED....

This Disc is designed for Unknown
Disc Type, Material = Unknown
ATIP Lead-in = Unknown
Norminal Capacity = Unknown
Disc Manufacturer maybe = Unknown
SMART-BURN Speed Limit = Unknown

So what gives? I have LTR-52246S and firmware 6S0A.

The drive seems to be working correctly except for the stupid smart-burn which seems to think all CD-R media cannot go above 12x max write....

Yapa
YapaY
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:56 am

Postby Action Jackson on Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:37 am

I got that message only once on some questionable 48x Starmedia media.

The media did burn fine at 40x.
Action Jackson
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Markham, ON. CANADA

Postby hoxlund on Sun Mar 16, 2003 12:36 pm

you only should get that red message if there is no blank media in the drive, i don't know what happens when you put a burned disc in and run it

also i see you have outdated firmware, get the latest: 6S0C

i have the same drive, great drive, only paid $10 + tax, brand new, staples
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

Postby dhc014 on Sun Mar 16, 2003 4:59 pm

Yes, first update the firmware.

Smartburn will still detect all of the information about a disk after it has been burned onto. Some cheap disks may not return any info...
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby Spazmogen on Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:19 pm

If CloneCD has "Hide CD-R Media" enabeled, you'll get the same error all in RED.

The CloneCD feature works that well!
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby hoxlund on Sun Mar 16, 2003 11:19 pm

Hide CD-R Media? im not finding it
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

Postby cfitz on Sun Mar 16, 2003 11:34 pm

http://clone.cd/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=212#212

You might want to read through those forums in general if you haven't seen them before. They have a lot of information about Clone CD and Alchohol 120%. I know essentially nothing about these programs, but this forum seems like a good resource. And by the way, the admins and moderators there do say that Clone CD has a bug that prevents it from copying SD 2.8 for most people...

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby hoxlund on Sun Mar 16, 2003 11:44 pm

well ive done countless safedisc 2.8's, of course i also use nothing but TY disks, and use a drive that does EFM encoding 100%
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

Postby cfitz on Sun Mar 16, 2003 11:59 pm

My main point wasn't to debate Clone CD capabilities - that was just a side note. As I said, I don't use these programs. My main point was to tell you about the Hide CD-R feature. Did you check the link?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby Spazmogen on Mon Mar 17, 2003 9:23 am

Hide CD-R Media is usually found on the Clone CD icon in the task bar when you right click on it.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby cfitz on Mon Mar 17, 2003 11:00 am

The link I gave points directly to a detailed explanation of Hide CD-R Media in Clone CD, including screen shots and information about what it is, how you use, why you might need it, and why you may not see it (i.e. system region setting = America or Japan) and what to do to enable it.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2020 CDRLabs Inc.