Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Thoughts on my new system specs please...

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Thoughts on my new system specs please...

Postby Spazmogen on Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:00 pm

I'm going from a p3 1ghz system to:

E6400 Core 2 Duo 2.13ghz
2gb Patriot DDR2 ram @ 667mhz (dual channel I hope, not a matched pair).
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 motherboard (the new F6 firmware is meant for o/c)
EVGA E-GEFORCE 7600 GT pci-e 256mb video card with VGA out. I'm still using a 19" Viewsonic CRT.

Samsung Spinpoint P Series 80GB SATA2 7200rpm HDD 8mb cache. ( I have 2 IDE hdd's to add to the system via a pci ata100 card).

total for new parts: $956.68 taxes incl. That's about $848 USD

My Lite On 52x CD-RW
NEC 4x DVD+RW yes its old, but its firmware makes me want to stick with it until it dies.
I'll be using my Chieftec Dragon case.
I bought a 585w PSU from Tiger Direct last month.
I'll stay with my existing mouse/keyboard set up.
And keep my 19" Viewsonic CRT.


It will be a home computer 1st, occasional gamer 2nd.

Your thoughts on it are appreciated.
Last edited by Spazmogen on Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby hoxlund on Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:42 am

very good choice for parts

i am partial to asus boards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131045

if you must stick with the 965 chipset that is

after i receive the intel bundle im throwing the intel board on ebay the very same day i get it, along with my current mobo/proc/memory

this is going to be my build:
mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131025

processor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115005

memory:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820145033

keeping everything else that is in my sig
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Han on Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:12 am

Good choice, Spaz. 8) I'm more fond of Asus boards as well, therefore I too suggest P5B Deluxe.

Actually I was thinking to leap from my trusted Asus P2B and 1 GHz P3 to Core 2 Duo just a week ago and after much consideration I decided to wait a bit more. When Core 2 Quadro will appear on the shelves, E6500 or E6600 that have 4 MB cache would be considerably cheaper. At least I hope so...
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby LoneWolf on Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:19 pm

I'm a bigger fan of ASUS myself; if you don't need SLI, the P5B-E looks like a real winner, I'm tempted to use it in a new build for a family member, though at this point I may still go with an i975 chipset board due to my distrust on the JMicron IDE controller used for i965 chipset boards.

I'd also choose Seagate or Western Digital over Samsung hard disks.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Postby smartin4 on Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:02 pm

I too am a big fan of Asus, have never used another mobo manufacturer.

I also have Asus graphics cards in 2 of my pcs, loved their cd-roms, use the E616P3 DVD-rom in 2 pcs, and have an Asus DRW-1608P. I have never had a lick of trouble with any of the components.
User avatar
smartin4
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 11:24 am
Location: New Jersey

Postby Bhairav on Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:51 am

smartin4 wrote:I too am a big fan of Asus, have never used another mobo manufacturer.

I have never had a lick of trouble with any of the components.


I've had a bit of bad luck with my A8N-E and an older GF3Ti200 video card. The NB fan on my A8N-E was borked,and Asus's messed-up service network here told me they would take 2 weeks to replace it. Had to put pressure on them and threaten to take them to the consumer court before they fixed it on the spot..
Q6600@3.1Ghz | Asus P5Q-E | 4GB DDR2-800 | 8800GT | 4TB HDD | Viewsonic vx2025wm
Xonar DX | Pioneer DVR-212 | Pioneer 111L | Benq 1655
User avatar
Bhairav
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 5:44 am
Location: Bombay,India

Postby Han on Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:08 am

That's why I NEVER buy a mobo with a fan on chipset. [-X These small fans tend to fail very fast, besides they are damn noisy. :evil:

My new graphics card will be fanless, too.
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby ruderacer on Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:02 pm

I too prefer ASUS. The mobo that Hox provided the link for looks very nice. I'm using an ASUS mobo P4G8X deluxe and was thinking of upgrading myself.

Spaz good choice of components, but consider an ASUS board.

Question for Hox: why that processor? Would you not go for a faster one?
"It's the voyage that counts, not the totality of life".

Every Saint has a Past! Every Sinner has a Future!
User avatar
ruderacer
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Location: Back in Florida

Postby hoxlund on Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:52 pm

im getting that processor with the intel bundle

http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic. ... tel+retail

that is of course if i keep my bundle i might just sell the entire thing and overhaul my current system
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Spazmogen on Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:17 am

Update & new question.

System has been built for 2 weeks and stable as well.


Question: do games/softwre see a Core 2 Duo as faster than the stock cpu speed? Mine is 2.13ghz per core. Core 2 Duo has 2 cores on the cpu of course.

I'm trying to figure out if its going to be outdated soon. Some games BF2 have a 1.7ghz minimum processor speed now.

Splinter Cell: Double Agent's spec's:
Supported OS: Windows® XP (only)
Processor: 3 Ghz Pentium® 4 or AMD Athlon™ 3000 (3.5 Ghz Pentium 4 or Athlon 3500 recommended). Game optimized for Dual-processor-enabled computers.
RAM: 1 GB
Video Card: DirectX® 9.0c-compliant, Shader 3.0-enabled 128 MB video card (256 MB recommended) (see supported list*)
Sound Card: DirectX® 9.0c-compatible (EAX" recommended) - PC audio solution containing Dolby® Digital Live required for Dolby Digital audio.
DirectX Version: 9.0c or higher (9.0c included on disc)
DVD-ROM: 4x DVD-ROM or faster
Hard Drive Space: 8 GB
Peripherals Supported: Mouse, keyboard
Multiplay: Broadband connection with 128 kbps upstream or faster


*Supported Video Cards at Time of Release

ATI® X1600/X1800/X1900 NVidia® 6600 /6800/7300/7600/7800/7900
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby LoneWolf on Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:52 pm

Spazmogen wrote:Update & new question.

System has been built for 2 weeks and stable as well.


Question: do games/softwre see a Core 2 Duo as faster than the stock cpu speed? Mine is 2.13ghz per core. Core 2 Duo has 2 cores on the cpu of course.

I'm trying to figure out if its going to be outdated soon. Some games BF2 have a 1.7ghz minimum processor speed now.


That CPU speed spec is misleading.

Considering how butt-slow the 1.7GHz P4 was, you'd need that minimum, and the devs need to tell purchasers some kind of minimum. Most 1.7GHz P4 processors are 256k cache variants (IIRC the earlier Socket 423 Willamette Celeron P4's might be 128k) with a limited 400MHz FSB, and many at that point were based on RDRAM or SDRAM. In contrast, Athlon XP processors of that time already used DDR SRAM, and didn't have to deal with the P4's problem of deep pipelines that meant you really suffered if you had an L2 cache-miss (combined with the P4 not having enough cache in its initial designs to limit cache misses). Most Northwood core P4's stepped up to 512k of cache, mainboards transitioned to DDR, and soon after that, Northwood CPU's went to a 533FSB, fixing the most glaring flaws in the P4 architecture. Most Northwood P4's sold were 2.0GHz and higher (though there are some slower ones out there), and 533FSB models began at 2.26GHz.

Sounds to me like their minimum specs are based on Intel, not AMD hardware. Furthermore, the Core 2 Duo blows every Intel processor before it away, because Intel finally decided to design based on instructions-per-clock like AMD, not maximum clockspeed. Not many games are dual-core aware yet, but as time goes by, more will be. I don't think you have anything to worry about. Your system's faster than the one in my sig, and there's nothing I can't run.

P.S. At some point, GPU becomes much more important than CPU, so there's a lot of balance going on there as well.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.