Home News Reviews Forums Shop


TnL not detected on your display monitor

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

TnL not detected on your display monitor

Postby johnson636 on Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:37 pm

Hello everyone. After a successful install of Star Wars Battlefront, I'm unable to start the game; I get this error, "No TnL detected on your display adapter." What does this mean and how do I solve this problem. Does this have anything to do with a 3D feature?
johnson636
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:29 pm

Postby hoxlund on Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:36 pm

that is indeed a hardware feature of the video card, do you know which video card you have?

TnL stands for Transform and Lighting btw

i think they added TnL in video cards at the first geforce cards, could be wrong though
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby johnson636 on Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:39 pm

How do I determine what video card I have?
johnson636
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:29 pm

Postby hoxlund on Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:41 pm

you might be able to find out by typing dxdiag in the run command in windows, or go to your display properties by right click the desktop and hit properties, then advanced
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby johnson636 on Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:15 pm

I have a DELL E771a on ATI Technoligies Inc. RAGE 128 PRO II ULTRA GL AGP my chip type: Rage 128 Pro II, (AGP 4X/PCI)
DAC Type: Internal DAC (350mghz) Is this not good?
johnson636
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:29 pm

Postby hoxlund on Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:37 pm

i guess the rage 128mb vid cards didn't support hardware TnL

besides you wouldn't be able to play battlefront with that card anyway

id advise picking up something more powerful
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Justin42 on Sun Sep 26, 2004 3:08 am

Yeah, the Rage128 is a very, very old card by technology standards (it came out late 1998, early 1999). You'll need to pick up something newer to play most modern games...
Justin42
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:30 pm

Postby johnson636 on Sun Sep 26, 2004 11:39 am

Are video cards difficult to install?
johnson636
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:29 pm

Postby bill on Sun Sep 26, 2004 2:00 pm

johnson636 wrote:Are video cards difficult to install?


No.

Whats the operating system and motherboard in your computer.
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby johnson636 on Sun Sep 26, 2004 6:29 pm

XP Home. How do I find out what motherboard I have?
johnson636
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:29 pm

Postby bill on Sun Sep 26, 2004 11:17 pm

Lets start over..

You might find all the info you need in your computer manual. Or you could just call Dell and ask what your computer's motherboard supports.

If not, you might download this program http://www.pcpro.co.uk/?domain=custompc ... nload.html

and after the install

Start AIDA32.
Expand the- motherboard tree.
Highlight- motherboard.
Read- motherboard name.
You can then Google or go to Dell's website and find out what video cards your motherboard supports. For example, AGP 2X, 4X, 8X...






Here are the minimum system requirements for the game, note the T&L requirements- http://support.lucasarts.com/tsg/SWBFQu ... emReqs.htm

Here's the list of recommended video cards and drivers- http://support.lucasarts.com/tsg/SWBFQu ... tedVCL.htm



To replace the video card, assuming you have an AGP slot.

Turn off the computer and unplug the power.

Press the start button to discharge the computer.

Be careful of static charges from your body.

Remove the case cover and look for the AGP slot. Start by looking at the bottom of the motherboard and raise your line of sight. You will see a series of horizontal slots, it should be the top slot above the PCI slots.

Remove the screw holding in the existing card. Look to the rear of the card to see if there is a retaining clip. If there is, release the clip and gently wiggle the card out of the slot.

Install the new card and reverse the steps above.

Start the computer, XP Home will install basic drivers for the video card. You then install the drivers that came with the card or use the updated drivers on the video card manufactures website.

If your computer doesn't post, shut down and repeat the steps above. Make certain the video card is fully seated in the slot.

That's what works for me, do so at your own risk.

Good luck

PS, If you decide to go with a modern video card like ATI's 9800 Pro make sure that the computers power supply is large enough.
Last edited by bill on Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby johnson636 on Sun Sep 26, 2004 11:46 pm

Thanks BigMonkey :D
johnson636
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:29 pm


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.