Home News Reviews Forums Shop


No transform and lighting?!?!

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

No transform and lighting?!?!

Postby jediofalltrades on Sun Oct 24, 2004 12:19 pm

i recently bought a brand new visiontek xtasy 9200 256mb pci graphics card for my computer hoping to play my new game, 'Star Wars Battlefront'. after i installed my card, (the game was already installed), i attempted to play the game and i got a window that said "No TnL detected on you display adapter". i attempted to play other games on my hard drive with messages like "More then 12mb of Video memory required to play" and "Not enough video memory to run". i know the card is working because the desktop changed after i installed the drivers and restarted my computer. also, i installed a game after the installation of the card and that game works just fine. one more thing that bothers me is there were visual demos that came with the card in the form of screen savers, and i attempted to play one of those with no luck. what do you guys suggest i do?
Jediofalltrades
jediofalltrades
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby tazdevl on Sun Oct 24, 2004 12:37 pm

Download the cat 4.10s and be sure you have the game fully patched. It does support T&L.

Might also want to update your motherboard drivers.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

cat 4.10

Postby jediofalltrades on Sun Oct 24, 2004 12:55 pm

where do i get these cat 4.10s? and how would i go about updated my motherboard drivers?
Jediofalltrades
jediofalltrades
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:58 pm

cat4.10

Postby jediofalltrades on Sun Oct 24, 2004 1:17 pm

ok, i updated my motherboard drivers to no avail, i get the same messages, but i havent gotten the cat 4.10s yet
Jediofalltrades
jediofalltrades
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby tazdevl on Sun Oct 24, 2004 1:24 pm

FYI having a 256MB of memory on a PCI card is a waste of money for that interface and chip.

Your problem could stem from a previous graphics card. Depending on what card you had before... you might not have uninstalled the previous driver properly before putting the new one in.

Also, depending on how old your computer is (given the fact you bought a PCI card... my guess is that it borders on ancient) there would be a IRQ conflict.

At this point my advice would be to:

- download Catalyst 4.10 (WITHOUT the Control Center) from www.ati.com
- http://www.driverheaven.net/cleaner/index.htm download and install.
- uninstall the driver via add/remove or from the ATI folder in programs
- reboot
- boot into VGA mode (hold down F8 after the BIOS screen). should get you to a screen that has options to boot into safe mode etc.... select VGA
- log into windows
- run drivercleaner
- uninstall/clean all ATI (and if you had a nVIDIA card before) nVIDIA drivers.
- Reboot
- Start windows normally
- Do NOT let windows install drivers for the card, install Catalyst 4.10 drivers

See how that goes.

But given the card and interface, I wouldn't even bother trying to play newer games with that setup. Not enough horsepower.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

not ancient

Postby jediofalltrades on Sun Oct 24, 2004 3:49 pm

i bought my computer last year and had a nvidia geforce 2 mx400 in there pretty much immediately after taking the computer out of the box. but my computer is definately not ancient, its just not made for gaming, which is not its main purpose
Jediofalltrades
jediofalltrades
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby tazdevl on Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:22 pm

Then why buy a PCI card?

If it's a year old, an AGP card would yield markedly better performance, granted 256MB is still too much buffer for that graphics chip regardless.

If I remember the ATI lineup correctly, they did remove vertex shaders from the 9200.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

pci

Postby jediofalltrades on Sun Oct 24, 2004 7:39 pm

my point is that i only have pci slots
Jediofalltrades
jediofalltrades
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby stevehp on Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:04 pm

You bought it last year and it doesn't have an AGP slot you had to of bought a varily cheap computer for it not to have an AGP slot even if the graphics where onboard most OEM pc makers at least give you an AGP slot.

Your problem stems from the fact that you didn't uninstall the video drivers from the previous card which is an Nvidia card you put an ATI card in the machine different drivers my friend. You need to goto http://www.ati.com download the latest Catalyst drivers, but not before you delete the Nvidia ones.

And yes buying a card with 256MB of ram which in itself will be slow as heck ram, and then sticking it on a bottlenecked bus even with all that texture memory you'll have to turn alot of detail down.
Last edited by stevehp on Sun Oct 24, 2004 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
stevehp
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:38 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: pci

Postby tazdevl on Sun Oct 24, 2004 9:26 pm

jediofalltrades wrote:my point is that i only have pci slots


Then it is an old computer. AGP has been the standard graphics interface for at least the last 4 years.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby bill on Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:31 pm

I don't know why but PCI only boards do still exist. The savings for the manufacturer must be minuscule. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.a ... rty&DEPA=1


jediofalltrades,

Did you get the old drivers cleaned up and the ATI cats installed?
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby hoxlund on Mon Oct 25, 2004 1:18 am

all of the compaq computers we stock at staples are pci only, no agp slots

it shouldn't be that shocking
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby LoneWolf on Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:16 pm

Just a thought...have you installed a recent copy of Microsoft DirectX along with the Cat 4.10's?

http://www.microsoft.com/directx

P.S. If you still cannot get the card to work at that point, I'd go back and get a card based on the NVidia Geforce FX5200 or FX5700. The ATI Radeon 9200 chip is basically a revamped Radeon 8500, and is not fully DirectX 9 compliant. The Geforce FX5200 comes in PCI flavors, and is fully DirectX 9 compliant. It should be faster, even if it only has 128MB of RAM, than a 256MB Radeon 9200, for a similar price.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Postby hoxlund on Mon Oct 25, 2004 1:25 pm

agreed
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.