Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Turning an IDE into SATA??

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Turning an IDE into SATA??

Postby grouch on Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:32 pm

Hey all,
I was browsing ebay for hard drives and came across this auction for an IDE to SATA converter. Claims that it converts any IDE hard drive to SATA, and has ports for SATA data cable and SATA power cable.
Is this just a scam?? Like isn't the data transfer rate controlled by the hard drive itself, and not dependant entirely on the cable??
Or would it be just a hard drive connected via SATA interface but speed of an IDE??

Thanks.
grouch
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Toronto

Postby Ian on Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:57 pm

No, it's not a scam. It's just an IDE to SATA converter. Just keep in mind that they don't work with all motherboard chipsets.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby CowboySlim on Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:35 pm

Hey Grouch, which one are you talking about? There are two of which I am aware, Rockethead 100 and Addonics. I bought the latter and it showed up at the door today, still in the box.

I'm going to try it shortly - be back later tonight.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby CowboySlim on Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:51 am

OK, here's the deal. I got this Addonics ADIDESA. Works fine on a hard drive. Can't do a normal boot when used on an optical drive, Toshiba SD-M1712 DVD-ROM. However, will boot into safe mode. Windows XP Home SP2 and Intel D865GBFL.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby pranav81 on Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:01 am

Technically there should be no problem and you should be able to boot into Windows normally when the converter is connected to a optical drive.

Slim,did you try that converter on any other computer?


::Pranav::
Increasingly mathematics will demand the courage to face its implications.
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby LoneWolf on Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:31 am

Ian wrote:No, it's not a scam. It's just an IDE to SATA converter. Just keep in mind that they don't work with all motherboard chipsets.


To further specify, the ones I have found so far only work with Silicon Image chipsets. It would seem the converters use some IC's from Silicon Image and need SI on the mainboard to work...

Rather than deal with that, I plan to ditch my IDE drives and get two Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 160GB SATA's with some funds received at Christmas.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Postby CowboySlim on Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:50 am

No, did not try on another computer. However, BIOS did recognize optical drive and I could read from a CD in that drive in the SAFE mode.

The Addonics website does have a disclaimer that it may only work on ATAPI drives with Silicon Image chipsets.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby rmunde on Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:12 pm

My previous Abit IC7-Max 3 board would only recognize ide drives attached to Abit adapters- others would not work. Keep in mind that you gain nothing in performance by attaching an IDE drive to a SATA controller.
Abit IC-7 MAX 3 mb, P4 3 GHz (800 FSB), 2 GB RAM, 200+ GB hard drive space, 550 watt Antec Truepower PS, ATI Radeon 8500 AIW, Audigy 2 Platinum Pro ZS, Adaptec 2940UW, Sony DRU500A, Plex Premium, Toshiba SD-M1612-S, Plex PX-40TS, Win XP Pro.
rmunde
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Southern Cal

Postby arklab on Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:09 pm

I've tried two, on both HD's and DVD burners - on several mobos.

Both worked, but REQUIRED the drive jumper to be set to MASTER.
Just leaving the jumper off (which is suposed to select Master), or using Cable Select really messed up these converters.
arklab
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 8:00 pm


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.