Home News Reviews Forums Shop


No video signal from ATI card - any reasons why?

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

No video signal from ATI card - any reasons why?

Postby thinboy1 on Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:30 pm

I have a ATI 9700 AIW video card and a NEC LCD monitor with the DVI plug. As of late, after having my system on for 20-30 minutes, I would lose the video signal and my screen would go blank. An error message would pop up saying that I had no video signal. Pressing anything on the keyboard doesn't help and the only thing to do is to reboot. Any reasons why I would lose my signal?

:o
thinboy1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:06 am

Postby Bhairav on Sun Sep 12, 2004 5:27 am

Does it require a separate power connector? If so, check whether it is connected.
Q6600@3.1Ghz | Asus P5Q-E | 4GB DDR2-800 | 8800GT | 4TB HDD | Viewsonic vx2025wm
Xonar DX | Pioneer DVR-212 | Pioneer 111L | Benq 1655
User avatar
Bhairav
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 5:44 am
Location: Bombay,India

Postby bill on Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:54 am

Try the following sequence.

1- Make sure the power management settings for your operating system isn't turning the monitor off.

2- Make sure the video card fan is working.

3- Turn off all power, remove the video card and then reinstall to make sure its seated properly.

Good luck and let us know the results.

Bill

P.S. Some computers won't resume from standby mode...
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby thinboy1 on Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:20 pm

My power management settings was always set at 20 minutes. I typically leave my computer on throughout the day and the screensaver comes on after 10 minutes. After 20 minutes or so, the monitor does shut off but when I move my mice or tap on my keyboard, the monitor comes back up.

The video card fan is working and it is seated properly (I checked this several times).

As for a separate power connector, I've had my PC built by my brother for over a year now and this has never happened. The only new thing that I've downloaded is the XP SP2. Would this have any effect on my problem?

BTW - I would normally expect to see a Windows Error Message after I reboot but I don't.
thinboy1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:06 am

Postby bill on Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:57 pm

The only new thing that I've downloaded is the XP SP2.


Well this could be completely unrelated but this is getting interesting. I've also installed SP2 recently and I'm getting a blank screen on occasion. It only happens if I leave the computer for an extended period of time, similar to you.... The only way to get the video back is to reboot. Other than the above (recent) problem the computer seems rock solid.

I'm going to disable the screensaver (Marine Aquarium 2) to test if there is a bug in SP2. If that doesn't work I'll try to roll back the SP2 installation. I'll let you know what happens.

BTW, I'm using a 9800 Pro card and the power management settings are set to- ALWAYS ON.
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby bill on Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:18 pm

I'm trying but everything seems to be working just fine now, sheesh.
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby thinboy1 on Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:36 pm

I think it was the power management that was affected the monitor. I've set the monitor to "never" and it worked fine last night. Maybe it has something to do with SP2.
thinboy1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:06 am

Postby thinboy1 on Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:56 am

After I sent my reply, my monitor went blank. I rebooted my machine and left the side panel opened and the PC / monitor has stayed on for a several hours. I also downloaded new drivers for my ATI 9700 AIW so hopefully this will help.

I did get an Error Signature Message and submiited it to Microsoft. They told me it wasn't a Windows issue but ATI Graphics Driver issue.
thinboy1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:06 am

Postby bill on Tue Sep 14, 2004 9:19 pm

Thinboy1,

I still haven't lost the video since this thread was started. Here is a very long thread that may apply to your situation- http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread. ... ge=1&pp=30

Did you changed the video drivers prior to the signal troubles?
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby thinboy1 on Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:42 pm

Big Monkey:

Thanks for the link. That's exactly what's happening to me. However, I haven't played a game on my PC in a long time. I've just been surfing the web, spreadsheets, and downloading pictures from my camera.

I've had my ATI 9700 Pro AIW for over a year but the problem started right after Labor Day. I started to download the Catalyst Drivers from ATI last night. Hope it helps.
thinboy1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:06 am

Postby bill on Wed Sep 22, 2004 5:47 pm

Thinboy,

Have you found a solution for the lost signal?

My video started to get flaky again. I finally realized today that I have a faulty KVM switch, port or cable.
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.