Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Windows XP: Should I upgrade...

Anything else

Windows XP: Should I upgrade...

Postby Spazmogen on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:05 am

Can I load a full version of XP from the upgrade cd version?
I understand that it'll need a copy of Win98, does it just ask for the Win98 Disc, or does it have to find it on a hard drive somewhere?

My scanner is not supported by Win2K Pro, but it is in Win XP with WIA (the new twain).
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby tazdevl on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:05 am

It will ask you for your Win98 disc... though to be honest I'm not sure if that qualifies as an "upgrade" in their mind. In some cases they have only allowed you to hop up from the previous version.

Back everything up and see what happens.

Actually now that I think of it, I upgraded my admins desktop from 98 to XP... shouldn't be a problem, just make sure you have a 98/2K disc handy.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby yamawho on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:05 am

You can not do a new installation of win xp from a an upgrade cd.

You need to get the full retail or OEM version.

Upgrade is not generally recommended.
The more I figure out, the more I realize how little I know.
yamawho
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:24 pm

Postby Spazmogen on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:05 am

Thanks for the replies.

But I'm still confused.

I was reading the XP site and it mentions how to do an upgrade and a full install, but it doesn't mention the required OEM vs UPGRADE discs. I was wondering if it will let you do a full install, only if it can find a previous version of windows (either on the HDD or on CD-ROM) ?

I plan on not keeping my current settings, if I have to, then that's fine.

My present dual boot of 98SE & 2K Pro is ok, but I'd be happier with 1 OS running that can handle the Umax 610S (ISA SCSI card scanner).

My GeForce2 GTS doesn't like 98SE for some reason and is stuck in 16 colors at 640x480. But it runs just fine under 2K pro (same driver, different versions of it). So its a software/driver problem with 98SE. Hence, this would be a kill 2 birds with 1 stone thing: Get the video card working right in XP and have the scanner working.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby yamawho on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:06 am

When you do I new install it formats the hard drive and you get to choose NTFS or FAT32. You can do this with a brand new HDD or with one that already has a windows version on it.

If you have the upgrade you can not do a new install and it requires that a previous version of windows already.

If you want a clean slate, the new installation is the only way to go.

If you upgrade you end up getting stuck with stuff you wanted to get rid of.
The more I figure out, the more I realize how little I know.
yamawho
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:24 pm

Postby Spazmogen on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:06 am

yamawho wrote:If you want a clean slate, the new installation is the only way to go.

If you upgrade you end up getting stuck with stuff you wanted to get rid of.


Thanks.

I guess, I could format C: and install the bare minimum (no VIA drivers or video drivers) of Win98, then do the 'upgrade' to XP. In that case, am I given the opportunity to compress the old version of windows or just overwrite it with XP ? As you can see, I'm cheap and trying to save an extra $100. I could use that $ for the new Lite On 52x burner :D
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby BuddhaTB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:06 am

I did a clean install of Windows XP into my system using an OEM CD. I was wondering if there was anyway I could get MS Paint since the OEM Windows XP doesn't come with it? I just want MS Paint so I can make screen shots to post up.
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby yamawho on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:06 am

I have XP home and it includeds MS paint.

Click on start/all programs/accessories
The more I figure out, the more I realize how little I know.
yamawho
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:24 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:06 am

Spazmogen wrote:I guess, I could format C: and install the bare minimum (no VIA drivers or video drivers) of Win98, then do the 'upgrade' to XP. In that case, am I given the opportunity to compress the old version of windows or just overwrite it with XP ? As you can see, I'm cheap and trying to save an extra $100. I could use that $ for the new Lite On 52x burner :D

yes, you could do that, that's the "cleanest update" you could think of.
however, i still recommend doing a fresh install, not an upgrade. an upgrade can lead to all sorts of strange problems - did for me, and i upgraded from win2K.
i can't say if this justifies another $100, but money aside a fresh install is the best way to go.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby BuddhaTB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:09 am

yamawho wrote:I have XP home and it includeds MS paint.

Click on start/all programs/accessories


Just checked and my OEM Windows XP Home edition doesn't have it.
What kind of computer do you have?
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby Spazmogen on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:17 am

All is well with the computer again.

I was having video driver & IRQ problem that both were screwing with the video card.

I reverted back to Win98SE, changed from Nvidia's drivers to Hercules' and it solved the driver problem. The IRQ: I ended up removing a card from the system. Solved.

My video is back to where it should have been.

My UMAX ISA-SCSI scanner works again.

So does ClonyXXL & CD-R ID 1.63.


And I saved myself $150 by not buying XP.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby coolestnitish on Wed Nov 13, 2002 12:52 am

BuddhaTB wrote:Just checked and my OEM Windows XP Home edition doesn't have it.
What kind of computer do you have?

Hey, I know something that you could try. Open Control Panel, go to Add/Remove programs, then on the left there'll be an option saying Add Remove Windows Components. Click on that and then select Accessories and Utilities, then click details, then select Accessories and select Details again and there you will have an option to check to install Paint on the computer. Hope I made myself clear, theres a lot of clicks. lol.
PS: It may ask for the Windows XP setup disk, so pop it in if it asks for it.
OH BEHAVE!!!!!
Never in this world can hatred be stilled by hatred; it will be stilled only by non-hatred - this is the law Eternal.
coolestnitish
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: CaNaDa

Re: Windows XP: Should I upgrade...

Postby KLF on Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:52 am

Spazmogen wrote:Can I load a full version of XP from the upgrade cd version?
I understand that it'll need a copy of Win98, does it just ask for the Win98 Disc, or does it have to find it on a hard drive somewhere?

My scanner is not supported by Win2K Pro, but it is in Win XP with WIA (the new twain).


You can install an upgrade version of XP on empty machine, it does ask for Win98 cd once to verify you own a previous version and that's all.

There is no need to actually install Win98 first.
KLF
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:38 am

Re: Windows XP: Should I upgrade...

Postby vxd*.* on Mon Nov 18, 2002 1:35 am

[quote="Spazmogen"]Can I load a full version of XP from the upgrade cd version?
I understand that it'll need a copy of Win98, does it just ask for the Win98 Disc, or does it have to find it on a hard drive somewhere?

My scanner is not supported by Win2K Pro, but it is in Win XP with WIA (the new twain).[/quote]
I managed to.
I was running win 98,but all u need running is any version of windows (less 3.1)and just popped in the XP cd. It gave me the option to upgrade or install. I tried both and it did not make any difference.(used 2 systems).
I did not loose as much as a file, and it picked up a modem that 98 would not reconize.
I would suggest to install XP, it is a wonderful platform, built on NT technology, and very secure.
Also if u know the [cherry] command-it will work as well.
If not-let me know and I will explain-it is a little tricky..
If u need an XP product ID, e-mail me, Iwill send u one.
Last edited by vxd*.* on Fri Nov 22, 2002 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
vxd*.*
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:29 am

Postby sonyman on Wed Nov 20, 2002 12:15 am

You can also use a Windows 2000 disc as the verification disc for the upgrade install. In any case, you get better results if you slipstream SP1 into the install.

-Scott
Gigabyte GA-8KNXP
Intel Pentium 4 3GHz
1024MB PC3700 DDR @400MHz CL2
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Sony DRU-500A
Lite-On LTR-52327S 52x32x52
User avatar
sonyman
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:12 pm

Re: Windows XP: Should I upgrade...

Postby vxd*.* on Fri Nov 22, 2002 12:32 am

[quote="Spazmogen"]Can I load a full version of XP from the upgrade cd version?
I understand that it'll need a copy of Win98, does it just ask for the Win98 Disc, or does it have to find it on a hard drive somewhere?

My scanner is not supported by Win2K Pro, but it is in Win XP with WIA (the new twain).[/quote]
I upgraded to XP-but had a windows OS on the HDD. If u have a windows version running-you should be able to insert the XP cd, and it should autorun, giving u the option to upgrade or install. I tried both and found install the better, as it gives u all the XP options. Also I never lost a file.
Yet, if u have a formatted HDD-it is a bit tricker,as XP has no CAB files to copy.
vxd*.*
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:29 am


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.