Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Windows Update doesn't work after SP1

Anything else

Windows Update doesn't work after SP1

Postby coolestnitish on Sun Dec 22, 2002 5:27 pm

Hey everyone, I recently formatted my computer and installed XP. I installed Service Pack 1 using the file Microsoft has on their site which is used for updating through other browsers : http://www.microsoft.com/WindowsXP/pro/ ... xpress.asp
After installing SP1 and rebooting, I can't run Windows Update anymore. I start windows update (using help and support centre or going to windowsupdate.microsoft.com) and it checks for the connection, connects and then when i choose Scan for Updates, it just stays at 0% and doesn't move at all. What in the world is wrong?
By the way I didn't chose that feature of SP1 where you can archive the files so that an uninstall can be performed :oops: . I have tried reinstalling SP1 already. Please Help.
Thanks
OH BEHAVE!!!!!
Never in this world can hatred be stilled by hatred; it will be stilled only by non-hatred - this is the law Eternal.
coolestnitish
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: CaNaDa

Postby coolestnitish on Mon Dec 23, 2002 12:25 am

Well looks like no one knows what's going on...lol.
I did another format as I was having some more problems and this same problem happened again even after Windows Update was the first thing i did after installing windows. Wierd? windows!!!
After much annoyance and anger, I found the solution so I thought I might share it as it may help in the future if someone searches for such a topic...
Apparently Microsoft knows about this problem and has a fix. If you go to http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/troubleshoot/ and scroll down to where the topic is "Scan for Updates Freezes at 0%" you find the solution. You have to download this cab file http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/c ... /iuctl.cab
and then etract the contents, and then install the iuctl.inf file which was extracted. Then restart and the problem is solved!! :D
I don't know if this made a difference but I also Disabled “Automatically Detect Settings” and "use Automatic configuration script" in
IE > Tools > Internet Options > Connections > LAN Settings which is also recommended.
At last I could go through the pleasure of downloading a couple of 100 mbs of updates lol. :lol:
OH BEHAVE!!!!!
Never in this world can hatred be stilled by hatred; it will be stilled only by non-hatred - this is the law Eternal.
coolestnitish
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: CaNaDa


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.