Home News Reviews Forums Shop


WinXP DMA problem/missing Advanced tab in Device Manager

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

WinXP DMA problem/missing Advanced tab in Device Manager

Postby johnc19 on Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:50 am

Hi, I unistalled my secondary IDE as I could not enable DMA on my DVD burner. Note: DVD burner was still installed at that time. When I re-installed Secondary IDE.....the 'Advanced' tab in Win XP ie IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers -> Primary/Secondary IDE Channel -> Advanced Settings tab is now missing. It is no longer there for my Secondary IDE. Any idea on how I get it back? The DVD burner is now performing a lot faster, so it looks like DMA is turned on. Ok ..any advice will be good.

_______________________________________
moved from FAQ forum to DVD Recordable forum.
pleast don't post questions in the FAQ forum.
- dodecahedron
johnc19
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Brisbane

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:00 pm

hi johnc19 and welcome to CDRLabs.

well, simple fixes to try:
in Device Manager, try again uninstalling the Secondary IDE Channel and reboot.
another thing to try: uninstall the DVD burner too!
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby HardwareHarry on Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:03 am

@Johnc19 at my system Intel(845PE) chipset, the DEVICE tabs vanished after I installed the Intel Accellerator Driver, so if you have a Intel chipset only install Intel INF. set, then the tabs are coming back.

success, Harry
User avatar
HardwareHarry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: Hilversum-Netherlands

Postby burninfool on Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:09 am

Did you upgrade to SP2?I've noticed it's been removed so use Nero Infotool to check.
User avatar
burninfool
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 am
Location: USA

Postby HardwareHarry on Sun May 01, 2005 12:30 pm

In my case SP2 did the XP Pro completely lock, so I installed XP again without SP2 but ZoneLab ZoneAlarm Firewall wich I understand and for me on Cable is completely safe !

Harry
User avatar
HardwareHarry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: Hilversum-Netherlands

No luck yet with enabling DMA

Postby johnc19 on Fri May 06, 2005 10:53 am

Hi all,
Thanks for the advice...but no luck yet with enabling the DMA or getting the Advanced Tab back. I have unistalled and reinstalled the DVD drive and the IDE controller and noluck. I did check if DMA was enabled through Nero...and nope...not enabled!

I do have the Intel 845PE chipset....so I will try uninstalling the Acceleraor program.

OK all...let me know if you think of anything else.
johnc19
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Brisbane

Postby dodecahedron on Fri May 06, 2005 2:26 pm

if you have the IAA installed, then you do not have that tab in Device Manager, and DMA is controlled from the IAA.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to DVD Writers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.