Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Yamaha and PIO/DMA modes

Burn baby burn!

Yamaha and PIO/DMA modes

Postby Tony B on Mon Feb 24, 2003 5:10 pm

Nero's infotool reports that DMA is turned off for my Yamaha CRW-F1. I have no access to DMA modes in device manager (Win2000 pro), maybe because I installed Intel's ultra ATA driver.

Anyway, in the BIOS I noticed PIO and DMA modes were set to Auto. I changed DMA to Mode 2, leaving the PIO mode set to Auto. I rebooted but InfoTool still reports DMA is off.

Does anyone know what the settings should be for PIO and DMA, which modes (I want DMA on)?

Thanks
Tony B
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:13 pm

Re: Yamaha and PIO/DMA modes

Postby cfitz on Mon Feb 24, 2003 5:25 pm

Tony B wrote:I have no access to DMA modes in device manager (Win2000 pro), maybe because I installed Intel's ultra ATA driver.

That's normal when you have IAA installed. It removes the DMA settings tab in device manager. To enable DMA when IAA is installed you must use the IAA application.

You may want to try removing IAA if you continue to have trouble with it. A number of people have reported that IAA causes trouble with optical drives.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby Tony B on Mon Feb 24, 2003 6:12 pm

I have a DVD-ROM attached as master on the same cable and InfoTool reports it as having DMA on. When I ran IAA, it reported that for the Yamaha ultra DMA is enabled and current and default transfer modes are UDMA-2, but that doesn't show up on Nero's info applet.

Can I assume that DMA is actually working but Nero's infoTool is misreading things?
Tony B
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:13 pm

Postby cfitz on Mon Feb 24, 2003 6:25 pm

Tony B wrote:Can I assume that DMA is actually working but Nero's infoTool is misreading things?

That's a possibility. Do a transfer rate test with CD Speed. If you can reach 44x at the end of the disc and CPU usage isn't more than 10% or so (check it with task manager while the transfer rate test is in progress), then you have DMA enabled. Or, better yet, time a real burn. The proof is in the pudding.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.