Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Custom Bootable CD

Burn baby burn!

Custom Bootable CD

Postby mike_s104 on Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:19 am

I need to create a bootable CD. I know how to, but I need some menus like on the Win98SE bootdisk. I have seen it done, but I cannot figure out how to do it myself. I need this for work. basically I need to have the CD boot to a menu and then load image files from the CD for various other bootable disks. I would like to be able to have the following menus:

1. load nothing (just boot to a: ) loading CDROM drivers
2. ghost boot disk for xxx NIC
3. ghost boot disk for xxx NIC
4. ghost boot disk for xxx NIC
5. partition magic


and so on.....

thanks
mike_s104
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 2:57 pm

Postby glock20rocks on Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:43 am

Make your config.sys file on your boot disk like this:

[MENU]
MENUITEM=NORM, Normal Boot
MENUITEM=CLEAN, Clean Boot

[COMMON]
REM Stuff you ALWAYS want to load goes here

[NORM]
REM Normal boot stuff here

[CLEAN]
REM Clean boot stuff here


For your autoexec.bat file:

IF "%CONFIG%"=="NORM" GOTO NORM
IF "%CONFIG%"=="CLEAN" GOTO CLEAN

:NORM
REM Normal boot stuff here

REM Next line skips to the end so we don't execute the stuff below...
GOTO DONE

:CLEAN
REM Clean boot, do nothing
REM Next line NOT needed, but here just to be consistent.
GOTO DONE

:DONE



--
You can make as many menu items as needed.
Hope that helps...any questions let me know.
glock20rocks
 

Postby mike_s104 on Fri Dec 06, 2002 12:27 pm

thanks :-)
mike_s104
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 2:57 pm

Postby glock20rocks on Fri Dec 06, 2002 12:45 pm

No problem! I just hope that I wasn't too cryptic with that info...
glock20rocks
 

Postby mike_s104 on Fri Dec 06, 2002 12:52 pm

not too cryptic...

the one I had played with before had the different boot disks in image file like the ones used with WinImage...I'll have to look see when I get home.
mike_s104
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 2:57 pm

Postby glock20rocks on Fri Dec 06, 2002 1:02 pm

If you have a bootable floppy that already has a menu on just take a look at the config.sys and autoexec.bat files...
glock20rocks
 

Postby EEG161 on Fri Dec 06, 2002 8:49 pm

Lots of good info and downloads here>>http://www.nu2.nu/
Ghost 2003 requires 2 boot floppies for CD/DVD support, since the new Ghost.exe is so large. I've created a custom Ghost Boot floppy that fits on on disk. Let me if you want me to post the file information.
User avatar
EEG161
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 4:49 pm

Postby mike_s104 on Sat Dec 07, 2002 12:12 am

thanks for all the info guys. the disk I was thinking about did not use image files. those were something else.

I looked at the autoexec.bat and config.sys files on the CD I have and edited them to suit my needs. I tested it with VMWare and it worked great. I then tried this PC and it has issues with seeing all three CDROM (DVD) drives and gets confused. I disabled 2 of the 3 in the BIOS and it STILL found them (must be the beta BIOS not working right). I finally unplugged the power to them and it worked great.

how do I get it to find one drive?

also, I cannot get it to have more then 9 items in the menu. any way around that? any reason why?

EEG161:

sure, post the file info. :-)
mike_s104
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 2:57 pm

Custom Ghost 2003 CDRom Boot Floppy

Postby EEG161 on Sat Dec 07, 2002 11:26 pm

Autoexec.bat:

===============================================

@echo off
SET TZ=GHO+05:00
Autoexec.bat:


LH \MSCDEX.EXE /D:cd1 /D:cd2 /D:cd3
A:\mouse.com
echo Loading...
cls

if %config% == FROMFLPY goto FLPYBOOT
if %config% == FROMCD goto CDBOOT

goto FAILED

:FLPYBOOT
echo Loading Ghost boot disk (containing Ghost.exe)
pause
if exist a:\ghost\ghost.exe goto GHOSTFND
goto FLPYBOOT

:CDBOOT
echo Loading Ghost boot disk (containing Ghost.exe)
pause
if not exist a:\ghost\ghost.exe goto CDBOOT
a:
goto GHOSTFND

:GHOSTFND
cd \ghost
echo Loading...
GHOST.EXE
goto END

:FAILED
echo Unknown boot menu selection
goto END

:END
===============================================


Config.sys:
===============================================

[menu]
menuitem=FROMFLPY, This computer was started from a Ghost boot disk
menuitem=FROMCD, This computer was started from a Ghost bootable CD

[FROMFLPY]

[FROMCD]

[COMMON]
DEVICE = oakcdrom.sys /D:cd1
DEVICE = btdosm.sys
DEVICE = btcdrom.sys /D:cd2
DEVICE = aspicd.sys /D:cd3
LASTDRIVE = Z

===============================================

Other files on Ghost CD Boot Floppy (custom);

Ghost folder w/Ghost.exe
command.com
IFSHLP.SYS
mouse.com
mscdex.exe
oakcdrom.sys


These are all Windows98se MSDOS Boot floppy files.
Autoexec.bat & Config.sys were taken from the Ghost 2003 Boot floppy then edited to make this custom Ghost 2003 CD/DVD Boot floppy disk.

Normally, the Ghost boot wizard requires two floppy disks for this same type of Boot disk. With this, my custom Ghost Boot floppy, when Ghost asks for the Boot Disk, you can use this or you can use this when making a bootable Ghost CDRom using Nero5.

*Note:

I edited config.sys so no matter which menu item you choose (CD or floppy), the boot floppy disk will always be chosen. This is to avoid any drive misconfigurations.


See>>http://www.techweb.com/winmag/columns/explorer/1999/1025.htm
User avatar
EEG161
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 4:49 pm


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.