Home News Reviews Forums Shop


need help on dvd and cdrw

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

need help on dvd and cdrw

Postby kaga on Thu Mar 06, 2003 3:44 pm

i am helping a freind build a computer
and i got one problem is that in windows xp it doesnt show any of dvd rom and the cdrw drives
the mother bord i am using is a asus A7v333
Coming Soon Sager NP2090
Intel® Core™2 Duo T7500 2.2GHz
nVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT w/512MB
2GB DDR2/667 Dual Channel Memory
100GB SATA/150 7,200 RPM
Dell Inspiron 6000
kaga
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 2:09 am

Postby BuddhaTB on Thu Mar 06, 2003 3:53 pm

I'm using the A7V333.
Does the CD-RW drive and DVD-ROM show up in the BIOS? Have you tried installing VIA's newest 4-in-1 drviers for the IDE controller? If that doesn't work, try installing Microsoft's generic IDE controller drivers. Don't forget to check the power and IDE cables as well as the jumper settings.
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby kaga on Thu Mar 06, 2003 3:55 pm

THE ONLY DRIVE SHOWING IN BIOS IS THE DVD DRIVE
YUP I INSTALL THE NEWEST VIA's newest 4-in-1
the cable and power cables are fine but i haven't check the jumpers
Coming Soon Sager NP2090
Intel® Core™2 Duo T7500 2.2GHz
nVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT w/512MB
2GB DDR2/667 Dual Channel Memory
100GB SATA/150 7,200 RPM
Dell Inspiron 6000
kaga
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 2:09 am

Postby ccb056 on Thu Mar 06, 2003 5:48 pm

if its not the jumpers, chck the drive in another computer, the drive may be bad.
Last edited by ccb056 on Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ccb056
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 9:19 pm

Postby kaga on Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:43 pm

ok got it just forgot to change the jumpers
Coming Soon Sager NP2090
Intel® Core™2 Duo T7500 2.2GHz
nVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT w/512MB
2GB DDR2/667 Dual Channel Memory
100GB SATA/150 7,200 RPM
Dell Inspiron 6000
kaga
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 2:09 am

Postby BuddhaTB on Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:57 pm

kaga wrote:ok got it just forgot to change the jumpers

try setting the DVD to secondary master and the cd-rw drive has secondary slave. However, if you plan to do a lot of disc to disc copying, I would then suggest the DVD be set to primary slave and the CD-RW drive set to secondary master.
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.