Home News Reviews Forums Shop

I need label-less CD-R's, compatible with most CD players...

Burn baby burn!

I need label-less CD-R's, compatible with most CD players...

Postby ph349397 on Fri Apr 04, 2003 9:56 pm

Ok, I am very new to burning CD's, but about a year ago I was at a local record shop and came across a cheap pack of CD-R's. The CD-R's were wrapped in plastic and the individual disks had no label, nothing, just the shiny, silver, reflective coloration that can be seen on the underside of any factory-recorded music CD. I like this label-less format, it is much more aesthetically pleasing to me and I label the CD's myself with masking tape.

Unfortunately, most CD-R's I've come across since are either white, or are "watermarked" with the distributors brand name on them. What I am looking for are relatively cheap, high-quality CD-R's with no labelling on the disks. I have a burner on my PC, but I would like to be able to burn them in a stand-alone CD copier (TEAC RW-D200; unfortunately my girlfriend owns it). I'll settle for CD's that can't be written by it though. Also, I'm intending to use them for audio, so when I say "high-quality" that means that I would like to be able to play them in most audio CD players.

Thanks.
ph349397
Buffer Underrun

Postby cfitz on Sat Apr 05, 2003 1:50 am

If you want what you are calling unlabeled discs (no markings on the top side of the disk at all), then you need to get generic or unbranded discs. Probably the most extensive selection of such discs can be found at online retailers. For example, here are some DA CD-R for sale at Meritline:

http://www.meritline.com/100pacdigaud.html

American-Digital sells a variety of DA CD-R media as well, some of which are unbranded:

http://www.american-digital.com/prodsit ... y.asp?c=50

I don't know the quality of any of these discs, since I have never purchased any.